Rain a plenty

As of 5:30 this morning, we’d received 2 1/4 inches of rain. As of 5:30 this evening, we’d received 4 3/4 inches. I know I was hoping for rain, but if it had been dispersed over a few more hours it would have been more beneficial.

At least our water barrels are full!

8 Responses to “Rain a plenty”

  1. sjones71 Says:

    I’m with you. Our New England rains usually come a bit earlier and not so vigorously. It sounds like Maine is getting the really heavy stuff and for me here in Connecticut the rain intensity was enough to flood me out just a bit. We need it, but spread out would have been nice.

  2. Twinville2 Says:

    Oh my! And I thought everything at your place was lush and green! By nest week it will be lusher and greener than ever!

    I’m longing for that rain here in New Mexico. can you redirect some our way?

  3. Ali Says:

    Twinville, I would gladly send you some if I could figure out how! Of course, with the cost of fuel right now….

    Sorry to hear you got flooded in CT. This morning in Maine it is clear as a bell and cold, ir dipped below freezing last night, but the giant puddles are disappearing.

  4. Vin Says:

    Did you get any snow? I saw that it was flurrying this morning. Non of it stuck to the ground. I guess it was the April snow storm for this year. I’m hoping mom will put out her rain gauge now.

  5. margo72 Says:

    Yipes, you got twice as much as we got down here. I’m glad to hear you’re drying out a little. At least the seedlings will be *ahem* well watered in…Okay, I’m being overly optimistic there. I hope they didn’t outright wash away? (And I have to admit, I didn’t get my rain gauge installed until yesterday. ha ha on me. oh well. )

  6. Kathryn Says:

    That storm was amazing. We had to drive from Troy to Northport, and I was amazed and how many washed out roads and fields we passed. Ari and I went for a run in the woods this morning, and it was still one big puddle. How is your garden doing?

  7. Kim Says:

    Our basement is still drying out!

  8. Ali Says:

    Kim what a drag to return from Italy to a wet basement, ugh. I hope you had a fabulous time before returning to Spring!

    Kathryn, we were drying out, but rain this weekend is slowing the process. Down here, we did not get a deep frost in the ground, so things are draining in the garden, but the soil is now too wet to be worked, so no gardening this weekend. We were lucky, our sump pump has been going, but no real flooding here, unlike last year. I feel bad for the folks in Fort Kent!

Comments are closed.


