Blackberry cordial

Unlike 2006, when we picked over 25 lbs. of blackberries, 2007 was not a great year for blackberries. With the few berries we harvested, I experimented with making blackberry cordial.

I steeped about 4 1/2 cups of blackberries in 1 fifth of Smirnoff red label 80 proof vodka with a long strip of organic lemon peel for 4 months, turning the bottle regularly. At 4 months, I strained the berries out of the vodka, (squeezing the berries gently) and discarded, then added 1 cup of sugar syrup (1c sugar:1/2 c water) and let it sit some more. I tasted, and added another 1/4 c of sugar syrup in February; we recently tried it and wow, is it good. Potent, but delicious. It is especially good when mixed with a little sparkling wine a la Kir Royales and I can imagine it will be fantastic when used in dessert recipes.

I strained it through a mesh strainer lined with cheesecloth, and there is some sediment. In future I will do a final straining with paper towels and see if that removes most of the sediment.

This one experiment I’ll be repeating, and plans to add raspberries and black currants to the garden are fermenting.

8 Responses to “Blackberry cordial”

  1. Laura Says:

    Wow – now I know exactly what else I’ll be making with blackberries this summer. Hopefully we’ll get some off the vines at the very back of the pasture.

  2. Robin Says:

    ohhhhhhhh This sounds really good! I’m eager for the blackberries to ripen now too.

  3. sjones71 Says:

    Fantastic… can’t wait to try this.

  4. Ali Says:

    I had to taste a sample tonight when setting up for the photo — that probably explains why the photo is slightly blurry! It really is delicious as an after dinner drink, and I am looking forward to trying more kinds of liqueurs.

  5. Twinville2 Says:

    Oooh! La la! That looks so delectable!

    Good job!

  6. Jean Says:

    It sounds so delitful! I just love that kind of thing. I can’t wait to try it on some cranberries or even crabapples! thank(hic-up)you!

  7. Ali Says:

    How about pears? And I wonder about elderberries….

  8. Blackberry-lime ice cream « Yankee Pantry Says:

    […] this the other day. I can’t think of a better use of blackberries. Well, except maybe the blackberry cordial I made last year, and hope to make […]

Comments are closed.


