#*$%^! bugs!

Despite Dan’s fondness for the Maine Blackfly Breeder’s Association, I find that I could happily live without the blackfly. Really. As far as I can see, their primary value is in scaring away the tourists. But it could be worse, as Kathryn and her caninenaturalist Ari point out in their excellent blog, Out with Ari.
I’ve lived in places where the blackflies were more pervasive, and we had a good breeze both yesterday and today, which helps enormously. And maybe by tomorrow that giant swollen bite on my face will have subsided (as of Monday am:  not).  Sigh.

5 Responses to “#*$%^! bugs!”

  1. Margo Says:

    *lol* sorry, I can’t help it, I laughed. Blackflies, and their nasty cousins the Greenheads, are vicious little $#&^**&(s.

  2. Carlita Says:

    I love the Maine Blackfly Breeders’ Association, too!

  3. MaineMan Says:

    Is that available as a T-shirt or shirt? I would wear it.

  4. Ali Says:

    MaineMan, check out the website, they do have t-shirts.

  5. Twinville2 Says:

    I despise all flies! I know they serve a purpose in helping to break down dead animals and all, but they pester my poor horse and our other livestock and bite me so bad that I want to run inside and never come out. Poo on black flies!

Comments are closed.


