Rain day

At last, we are getting some rain today — not a huge amount, the forecast calls for between 1/4 and 1/2 an inch, but it is a nice slow drizzly soaking in kind of rain, just what we need.

I’m going to transplant a few things, and then spend some time in the house, which has been suffering from benign neglect. But while I’m cleaning, feast your eyes on this happy accident: Leopard’s Bane and alliums blooming together in a formerly gloomy section of the garden.

The alliums are part of a collection I purchased last year from White Flower Farm, the Music of the Spheres collection. I hope in future years the persicaria blooms when the alliums bloom, but at least they paired well with the Leopard’s Bane this year!

3 Responses to “Rain day”

  1. Kelly (fhf) Says:

    The flowers look wonderful. Meg and I were just saying the other day that we need to get ourselves some earlier blooming flowers to keep the bugs buzzing. We’re getting also some rain here today. How are the rain harvesters doing?

  2. Laura Says:

    I love the setting for your bird bath. We just put up a couple of bird feeders and the number of gold finches, chickadees and some kind of nuthatch that we’re seeing is quite amazing. You’re inspiring me to find a bird bath and a place to put it.

  3. meredith Says:

    I love the combination of purple and yellow. How cheerful. Even on a drizzly type of day.

Comments are closed.


