Ice cream heaven

Saturday morning, Dan, Holly and I went tag-saling. I LOVE tag sales. Our culture is so wasteful, it just sickens me what we throw out on a regular basis. Purchasing at tag sales is a great way to re-use items destined for the landfill if unsold, and it makes great economic sense, too. We find the most amazing items at tag sales, and Saturday was no exception.

I have been ogling the Cuisinart Ice Cream maker ever since I gave one to VISTA Carla as a wedding gift several years ago. Then Holly got one, also as a wedding gift, and has been talking about the fabulous frozen treats she makes regularly. My finger has been poised over the click button on Amazon for many months, but I hesitated.

We have an ice cream maker, and it works fine. It is even electric. BUT it uses rock salt, yuk. I love making ice cream, but the rock salt is a huge pain.

And then, Saturday morning, at a tag sale, I spied it, a Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. I grabbed the box, and called Holly over and asked if it was missing any parts. She said no. Box firmly tucked under my arm, I asked the price. “Oh, $2,” the woman said. Dumbfounded, I handed over a couple of singles and headed for the car before someone noticed I was stealing.

The ice cream maker uses a liquid filled freezer bowl which is placed in the freezer until solidly frozen. The ice cream mixture is placed within and the bowl turns around a stationary paddle. Upon arriving home Saturday morning, I immediately washed the bowl and stuck it in the freezer, readying it it for ice cream making on Sunday.

It works great! We made two batches of ice cream, sweet cherry chocolate chip, and banana, using the recipes in Bruce Weinstein’s The Ultimate Ice Cream Book as a starting point. Both were good, but I did not care for the frozen chocolate chips, and really, the banana ice cream was so amazing it completely overshadowed the cherry. We invited our crowd of friends for sundaes and had a feast. I can see the ice cream maker is going to get a lot of use –strawberry season looms on the horizon.

9 Responses to “Ice cream heaven”

  1. Laura Says:

    We have one of these that we got as a wedding present. It’s our favorite go to dessert maker for summer dinner parties and picnics. You’re going to get so much use out of it! Ours is 4 years old and still going strong.

  2. Nancy Bond Says:

    What a Find! Enjoy!

  3. Katie Says:

    Patience is a virtue. Now only if I could find (name your coveted object here) used, life would be perfect.

    Good find!

  4. Kim Says:

    I have been checking out ice cream makers, too, lately. I’m torn between just buying one and worried that I’ll want to do nothing but make and eat ice cream (kind of the same reason we don’t own a deep fryer!). However, if I were to find one for such a fabulous price (steal!) at a yard sale, well, I think my pondering days would be over.

    Have fun with it!

  5. Sue (coffeepot) Says:

    I have a really old one that used to belong to my grandmother. This one looks great and I would love to have one too.

  6. Twinville2 Says:

    My husband bought me a Kitchen Aid mixer for Mother’s Day. I had been wanting one for a very long long time.
    And then I bought the ice cream maker for it just last month. We are loving how easy and quick it is to make ice cream now….without rock salt.

    Your ice cream maker sounds similar. I hope you have a really yummy summer using it.

    Oh and if you can find it on Amazon or Target. com purchese the Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream book. Oh my gosh!! The recipes takes just like the ones that they sell. Delish!!

  7. Twinville2 Says:

    whoops! I meant ‘taste’…not takes. :)

  8. Kathryn Says:

    Oh, how fabulous. I’m really envious, too. We have an ice cream ball from LL Bean that you fill with ice and then toss around the yard for a 1/2 hour or so. It’s good fun, but it’s also a lot of work.

  9. Ali Says:

    Oooh Twinville, I love the KA mixer. I’d been thinking about that ice cream maker before I found this one. I probably should have purchased Kathryn’s ice cream ball, though, so I could work off the calories!

Comments are closed.


