Zinnias (or this is why I’m a packrat)

Last year in the vegetable garden I reserved a patch for cutting flowers. I LOVED having the cutting flowers available to cut for myself, for friends, as a gift for the hostess, etc. That it attracts pollinators is icing on the cake. I planted a mix of flowers but my favorites were the zinnias, so that’s what I planted again this year –State Fair mix and Giant Cactus Flowered mix.

I planted them in the same spot (bad I know), the center row in the u-shaped veggie garden. After overcrowded conditions last year, I was better about spacing them this year, 1 plant per square foot. I marked the square foot grid using a milk crate, and prepared to plant. Looking at the weeds, though, I decided I wanted to be able to mulch immediately and NOT have to weed through the young plants. Ding, I had an idea.

Rummaging about the shed, barn and garden shed, I scrounged up some quart sized yogurt containers. I knew they would be useful!! I stuck those in the ground centered in each square foot. Then I sprinkled slug-be-gone generously about, and mulched around the yogurt containers with straw. I could only do half the bed at a time, so I moved the containers and repeated. Then, using a piece of pvc pipe, I planted zinnia seeds in the center of each space left by the yogurt containers. I watered, the gave the bed a final sprinkle of slug-be-gone and I was done. A thick layer of straw will keep the bed moist and the weeds at bay. I hope.

5 Responses to “Zinnias (or this is why I’m a packrat)”

  1. sugarcampny Says:

    Very clever solution, I thought. You probably remember zinnias are also a favorite of mine. Alas, I do not have any this year. I`ll look forward to seeing yours in bloom.

  2. Nancy Bond Says:

    I hope you will soon have lots of colorful zinnias — one of my favorites as well.

  3. sjones71 Says:

    What a cool idea as usual!

    I’m playing blog tag and have tagged you if you are interested.
    http://compostings.wordpress.com/2008/06/21/a-game-of-tag/

  4. Kathryn and Ari Says:

    I just love zinnias: they’re such happy flowers. Is it just me, or are the slugs out of control this year? Ari and I went for a run Saturday morning, and even the street was covered with them.

  5. Ali Says:

    Zinnias are happy like a carnival, with fried dough! I can hardly wait. As for slugs,eeeew. I remorselessly crush the lily beetles, the potato bugs in bare hands, but I cannot bear the slimy gross slug. Fortunately, the chickens now eat them, yay chickens!!

    Tagged, eh, I’ll have to play tomorrow, tonight I’m ready to hit the hay.

Comments are closed.


