Why I come home from vacation

Camping in Maine is glorious, but awaiting my return in the garden were 2 lbs. of blueberries, broccoli for two, some new Yukon Gold potatoes, and some fresh thyme. YUM. I cooked it all up with some leftover meatloaf I had saved from Dan’s birthday dinner, which always includes meatloaf. MMMMM MMMM good! I just love eating from the backyard.

We returned late Wednesday from a brief camping trip to Peaks-Kenny State Park on Sebec Lake just north of Dover-Foxcroft, Maine. It was a very nice campground, with gorgeous, rocky pine and mixed forest, some hiking trails, a gravelly beach, and a fantastic lake for paddling and swimming. I was inspired to camp on Sebec Lake by by Maine singer-songwriter Dave Mallett’s song, Midnight on the Water. I am happy to report the lake is as beautiful as the music.

Borestone Mountain from Sebec Lake

Borestone Mountain from Sebec Lake

We enjoyed a few days of camping, paddling and hiking, but the garden was calling my name, so we came home. We had a lovely night and half day of rain at Sebec, but alas, no rain for us at home, so I had to break down and really start watering. The lawn feels like cement and some of the perennial beds were looking a bit crispy. I watered the vegetable garden by hand in the morning, and then set the sprinkler on the front beds yesterday –they were especially dry. A bit more watering today, and I’m hoping for some rain from the thunderstorms forecast for the next few days. More garden photos soon.

4 Responses to “Why I come home from vacation”

  1. Donna Says:

    When I was young, we visited my grandmother every Sunday and had wonderful garden fare. My favorite was speckled butter beans and cornbread with buttermilk.
    Donna

  2. Nancy Bond Says:

    What a beautiful treat to come home to…and what a beautiful treat your lake photo is. Maine is gorgeous. Can I say that enough? ;)

  3. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    Hey!!! We’re Potato Sisters!! I just harvested my first Yukon Golds the night before last. Yummmm!!! (Welcome Home, Ali) :-)

  4. Twinville2 Says:

    What a wonderful harvest of backyard veggies. And your plate of home grown looks so yummy, too.
    Looks like a beautiful place to camp, but I’m glad you’re back. Your gardens missed you, too.

Comments are closed.


