400 feet (round trip) to yum

Thanks to Sue, who recently chose to award me a Yum-Yum award, I was inspired to create a truly local meal tonight featuring ingredients from the garden: a Cheddar and Garden Vegetable Omelet. After a tough day working on the hoop house (more on that tomorrow), I wandered 200 feet or so to the garden to see what was available to go with eggs (see why in photo, right). I found our first Costato Romanesca zucchini of the season, a beautiful onion, and some gorgeous chard.

Back at the house, I cleaned and chopped the chard, removing the stems and midribs to cook separately, and diced the oinion and zucchini. I started with the onion and chard stems, cooking them in my large skillet, then added the zucchini, then the chard leaves. After adding the leaves, I stirred well and added lots of freshly ground black pepper and a sprinkle of sea salt, then covered the pan until the chard was tender. I removed the vegetables from the pan, wiped it out with a paper towel, returned it to the heat and added a big knob of butter.

When the butter was melted I swirled it around the pan, added some Henbogle eggs beaten well with a 1/2-ish teaspoon of sea salt. One the eggs were nearly done, I added the veggie mix and topped with some shredded Cabot Seriously Sharp cheddar cheese.

I was hot tonight, ladies and gentleman, as I managed to remove a fairly large and very stuffed omelet from my stainless steel pan in one piece. They say the mark of a true chef is the preparation of an omelet ;-) Dan was nearly speechless, all he managed was “wow.” It was delicious, the cheddar cheese and the chard really complement one another.

Anyway, thanks very much to Sue for the award! Between the award and all the compliments on [the parts of it I’m allowing you to see] my garden, my head is threatening to outgrow the monarda!

I’m supposed to pass the award along to 5 others, but I don’t read many food blogs (which is why it has taken me so long to respond to this award!) Instead, I’m going to ask readers to share a recipe using treats from their gardens either in the comments or linking to your blogs. And I encourage you all to check out Coffee & Cornbread –Sue posts some fabulous recipes, like this one for Montreal Seasoning which deserves an award of its own! I’ll be looking forward to some delicious reading.

6 Responses to “400 feet (round trip) to yum”

  1. don Says:

    What tastes better than an omelette made with ingredients you gathered from your own homestead?

    I want to have a big garden next year and am thinking about planting some chard.

    I’m still full from dinner, but you have me thinking about eating!

  2. Sue Says:

    Oh what a wonderful meal.

    My chard got planted late and isn’t quite ready to harvest but it wont be long.

    I so wish I had my own chickens but I am afraid that with the dogs it might be useless for me to try and raise them.

  3. Nancy Bond Says:

    Your omelet sounds yummy, and all the more so since the ingredients came from your own garden. :)

  4. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    Congrats on the award, Ali. Love the pics of the eggs in your refrigerator!
    It may be an issue on my side, but I can’t see the “see why in photo, right”. I only see the pic of your award and the pic of your eggs. There is nothing in your sidebar at all…just FYI.

  5. Ali Says:

    Don: thinking about food should be constant!

    Sue: We have our hens in a large penned in area. I wish they could totally free range, but my neighbor didn’t like it. So, if you have a place you can fence in, do try hens, 1) they are great fun, 2) provide delicious eggs, and (drumroll) 3) a great addition to your COMPOST!

    Thanks, Nancy! Very satisfying, it is to walk to the garden for dinner.

    Danni, the photo on the right was of the eggs –i.e. why I had to have an omlete for dinner was the surfeit of eggs :-). But between the omelet and giving some to a friend who did me a car favor, I managed to whittle the pile down to three last night. Of course, that will be 9 or 10 tonight. Yikes!

  6. Noor Says:

    I made the yum yum blog award just a few months to see where all she would end up and you would not believe the amazing food blogs she has ended up on. I have had so much fun seeing all of this and learning about more blogs and recipes along the way.

    You deserve it!

    Noor from Ya Salam Cooking

Comments are closed.


