the forecast was right…sometimes

We’re back at Henbogle, a little damp around the edges but in good shape after our camping vacation. We had a soggy start (note the water puddling on the tote lids) but we packed our gear into plastic totes and off we went –with a sled to haul the totes into our campsite! The totes take up a lot of room in the truck, but we arrived with everything dry, pretty miraculous given the driving rain we drove through to the park.

We had 3 stunningly beautiful sunny days, and some rain on the other days, but nothing we couldn’t manage, and when the rain brings views like the one on the right, who cares?

And did I mention we have all the gear needed to keep us (mostly) dry? We arrived and in between the raindrops, we set up camp, first the dining fly, to use as a staging area, then the screen tent, to provide more raindrop and bug free space, then the tent.

Of course, the sun came out just often enough to make sure we decided to stay on. Cobscook Bay was as gorgeous as I remember. Our campsite was spacious and fairly level with great water access –we could paddle Cobscook Bay right from our campsite, or paddle over to the boat launch and load up the boats for paddling elsewhere (although on this trip we didn’t do too much paddling).

Something tells me we’ll be going back next year.

7 Responses to “the forecast was right…sometimes”

  1. Anna Says:

    You guys really know how to camp. The place looks beautiful and even the rain didn’t keep you from having a good time. I can see why you want to go back.

  2. sjones71 Says:

    looks just gorgeous. We used to camp a lot, but my wife has grown to not like it so much! I think I’ll take my son for a quick weekend tent camping extravaganz in September. You’ve inspired me!

  3. Kim Says:

    Glad you went despite the weather. We are Mainers after all!

  4. Lynn Says:

    Ali, what a stunning photo of Dan in the kayak and the clouds mirrored in the water!!!

    Glad you had a nice time…checked the downeast weather a couple of times during the last week and it looked like you were having good weather. I think when camping as long as it doesn’t rain steady all is not lost.

  5. weekendfarmer Says:

    ah – I wish I could go !! I remember camping in Bar Harbor. That was something. I love Maine! (wish I didnt live so far away from it)

  6. frugalmom Says:

    That picture of the water and the clouds is gorgeous. It looks like you had a great time.

  7. Kathryn and Ari Says:

    Isn’t that just the best park? We go over year or so–usually during the fall. One year, we had the point where the walk-in sites are located all to ourselves. We felt so spoiled! We’d have lunch at one site, read at another, and watch the eagles from our homebase. I really love Downeast Maine–so much beauty there.

Comments are closed.


