Canning fools

There’s no rest for the wicked here at Henbogle. Saturday, we blanched and froze 10 lbs. of green beans from the farmer’s market to supplement our beans. Today, Dan and I were canning fools, processing 2 gallons of roasted tomato sauce, 8 pints of mixed spicy pickles, 8 quarts of bread & butter pickles, 2 quarts of refrigerator pickles, and some tomato jam.

I can hardly wait to taste the pickles, they look fabulous.

The spicy mixed pickles contain cucumbers, carrots, cauliflower, zucchini, cherry peppers, shallots, sweet red pepper, and hot banana peppers. It looks beautiful. I haven’t made this before but love Giardiniera, and this seemed like it might be similar. I meant to set aside some green and yellow beans for this but forgot.

The star of the day is the tomato jam. Mark Bittman wrote about tomato jam in his column in the NY Times last month, and I decided to try it.

I started with a bit over 2 lbs of mixed heirloom tomatoes, and ended up with 2 half pint jars, probably because I scorched the jam, dammit, otherwise I would have had a higher yield. But, I was multi-tasking and turned the wrong burner up, and burned it, possibly ruining my most-used 3 qt. stainless-steel pan. Sigh.

The jam, however, is delicious. I tweaked the amounts from Bittman’s recipe, using less cumin and more lime juice, more ginger, 1 t of crushed red pepper instead of jalapeno, two 3″ pieces of cinnamon and 4 whole cloves. I think I will use fewer cloves next time, and maybe add a bit of lime juice to the end, but it is fabulous. I had it for dinner with cream cheese on crackers. Yum.

Now, time for bed.

7 Responses to “Canning fools”

  1. dinainsuburbia Says:

    wow- and I thought I canned a lot. I was interested in Mark’s tomato jam recipe as well. I was going to can some tomatoes, but lost steam (pardon the pun) and wound up freezing it and taking the easy way out. Do you have a pressure canner?

  2. Ali Says:

    Yep, I have a big ol’ Mirro aluminum pressure canner from the 50s I think, maybe 60s. But for the pickles I used my water bath canner and a propane burner on the deck.

  3. sjones71 Says:

    Tomato jam sounds awesome. This got forwarded to my cooking/canning friend.. We’re going to have to try this.

  4. layanee Says:

    Great job with the canning! I seem to want to can but haven’t found the time! You are inspirational.

  5. nancybond Says:

    Wonderful! Doesn’t it give you a great deal of satisfaction to stand back and look at all those bottles? And think how good they’ll taste this winter!

  6. matronofhusbandry Says:

    Hi your canning looks great! I just had to stop by and say Hi and thanks for visiting my blog!

  7. Kathryn and Ari Says:

    I love, love, love tomato jam. I used to buy it from an Amish family at a farmers market in PA during grad school. Put it on corn muffins, and how can you possible go wrong?!?

    Kudos to the canning. I’ve done dilly beans and tomato sauce, but everything else got tossed in the chest freezer.

Comments are closed.


