The hard part of loving someone

The September sunshine is dim these days, as Dan’s dad is gravely ill. We are just back from a quick trip to see him in the hospital and lend help and support to Mom.

It is difficult to see Dad so frail. In family lore, he seems larger than life, a vital man bursting with energy and ideas, who converted an old carriage house into the family home, using reclaimed bricks he dug from the banks of the Hudson River at a bygone brickworks after his day job building concrete forms for New York City’s power plants, bridges and roads. An avid reader, he soaked up knowledge like a sponge, and was amazingly smart, he probably would have been a brilliant engineer. He is always quick with a joke, and has a ready twinkle in his eye –he could charm the whiskers off Santa Claus, and maybe he did as he has a crisp white beard.

I am very fortunate to have joined this family –it certainly eases the ache of losing my parents so early in my life. I love you dad.

3 Responses to “The hard part of loving someone”

  1. Robin Says:

    You’re in my thoughts. It’s such a struggle.

  2. Lynn on Pleasant St. Says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Dan’s dad is so ill. You all are in my thoughts.

    Ali, in just a few words you wrote so much. Beautifully touching.

    Give me a call if you two need anything.

  3. Kathy Says:

    I’m also thankful for you Ali, and the love and strength you brought to Dan. You are right on about Dad. Tower of strength, brialliantly creative and that twinkle will never die. It will be in the stars each night as we gaze at the night sky.

Comments are closed.


