Report from the garden

On Tuesday, September 30, we are still picking tomatoes, squash, herbs, chard and beets from the garden.  It really is amazing when you consider all the rain we’ve had.  The make-seed-at-all-cost habits of plants mean I’m still enjoying my own veggies.

I hope to be able to continue harvesting my own veggies for a while, but we still haven’t covered the hoophouse, sigh.  I may have located some damaged greenhouse plastic here in Maine, but can’t seem to connect with the greenhouse guy to confirm, and arrange payment and shipping.  I may have to make a trip to Bangor-Brewer to find him and collect it in person — about 200 miles round trip, less if you knock off my commute from work.  Not my ideal scenario especially when the US Postal Service would do it for me for a nominal fee.

So, what happened to all those vegetables?  Well, we shredded and froze the 2 large zucchini in pint freezer bags.  I’ve frozen it before in larger quantities for bread, but –true confession time, here– I don’t really like zucchini bread all that much.  Then I read on Daphne’s Dandelions that she shreds and freezes the zucchini to use in soups and stews.  Bingo!  What an excellent idea!  I love the subtle green flavor of zucchini and yellow squash, and shredded it will lend body and flavor to soups without the texture issues of frozen sliced squash.

For dinner, another 2 zucchini were sliced and sauteed in brown sage butter.  Yum :-)  The tomatoes stil await roasting, but it is on the list and will happen soon.

7 Responses to “Report from the garden”

  1. O. Says:

    Who can resist the subtle vegetal flavor of squash in soup? :)

    O.

  2. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    I shred and freeze my zucchini for later use in baking. Zucchini bread is healthy enough to pass for breakfast in our house. One trick I’ve come up with is to freeze the shredded zucchini, thaw it, drain it, and then refreeze it. I do this to save space in the freezer. The zucchini loses a lot of water when it freezes and thaws, so I might as well get rid of that water earlier rather than later. More room in the freezer and a faster thaw when it’s time to use it up. I just open the ziploc a tiny bit and put the bag upside down in the drainboard with the opening lowest, and leave it there for the day.

  3. ProfTheory Says:

    Kate – I wonder if there might be a “better” way to shed the water in the zucchini since the freezing and thawing damages the cell structure. It might even help it to keep its flavor and nutrition.

  4. nancybond Says:

    Your harvest is abundant! Everything looks so wonderful.

  5. Ali Says:

    O, behave, or you’ll get squash for your birthday present!

    Thanks for checking in with your zucchini tip, Kate, I will keep that in mind.

  6. Amanda Says:

    Shredded, dried zucchini and summer squash is also great in soups and stews- it cooks down and thickens it, plus it doesn’t need to be frozen.

  7. Kathryn and Ari Says:

    We found a great recipe for a chocolate zucchini cake at epicurious.com. I’ve five of them frozen in my freezer right now!

Comments are closed.


