First Frost

We had our first frost last night.  I noticed it on the grass back near the blueberry hedge as I went out to let the girls out.  On first glance, I thought it missed the garden, but when I went back later, I saw it had nipped the zucchini and summer squash.

I returned later in the day to pick all the squash and harvest anything else that looked edible.  I collected 6 (yes 6!) more zucchini and a few small yellow squash.  I cut an armful of swiss chard to blance and freeze, and another armful of parsley to make into an herb pistou.  We still have beets in the ground and more chard, but anyday now we can let the hens into the garden to put it to bed for the winter.  They will be thrilled.

I picked the leaves off the parsley, washed it and made parsley pistou, whirring it in the food processor with salt and olive oil, then into ice cube trays for freezing, then bagging in ziploc bags.  Once the parsley was in the freezer, I washed, chopped and blanched the chard.  It is in the freezer now, in 6 pint bags with more to come.  Soup weather is approaching…

One Response to “First Frost”

  1. Nancy Bond Says:

    Mmm-mmm good!

Comments are closed.


