Those chickens…

are almost more trouble than they are worth.  At least one of them got in the hoophouse and wreaked devastation on my poor plants.  And did I mention I was planning a post about how well the plants were doing?  Sigh.  SIGH.

img_3241

Upon first planting the seedlings

img_33211

These seedlings are just to the left of the thermometer seen in the above photo.

img_3320

These seedlings were directly in front of the thermometer seen in the above photo.  The row cover was scratched aside, and the seedlings completely uprooted and eaten.  These were either sprouting broccoli or Brussels sprouts, I can’t remember and the label is nowhere to be seen.

img_3322

These brassicas were saved by the row cover.

img_3323The lettuce , securely covered by row cover, was also unscathed.

img_3318Five cut and come again lettuce plants used to live here.  I couldn’t even find the roots.

On days like today, I get a real hankering for chicken soup.

11 Responses to “Those chickens…”

  1. nancybond Says:

    LOL – I can imagine you do. :) I guess they were only doing what comes naturally.

  2. ProfTheory Says:

    I guess this is the price you pay for the eggs they “give” you. I hope you can replant them now instead of waiting for spring. These challenges just make you a better gardener. cheer up!

  3. Jen Says:

    We are wanting chickens when we finally get a farm, and more and more, I am wondering if it is a good idea?

    Will they co exist peacefully with my garden? LOL, or will it be the soup pot for them. Joking about that part.

    Jen

  4. Kim Says:

    I heard about that conference. If it is Saturday John is hunting and I have the kids and Sunday I’m working. I will check it out and send you out another comment if I can attend. If not please take notes and share with me. My e-mail is kjcouture@roadrunner.com. THANKS, Kim

  5. Kim Says:

    Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that the chicken destruction is a bummer. They are hard on the garden, for sure. That is why mine stay cooped up come Spring.

  6. Kim Says:

    I couldn’t get to the link on the senintel. If you get a chance please send me whtat you know…time, agenda etc. TY, Kim

  7. Lisa Says:

    Yes…chickens ARE almost more trouble than they are worth. They are likely the most destructive force on earth-other than tsunamis! I got a small flock of 6 this year with the idea that they would free roam in our fenced in yard to eat the ticks, bugs, etc. However, I can’t do this as they tear the lawn to shreds! We will be soon making a ‘chicken tractor’ for them-but one with a floor instead of floorless. This will let them graze but keep the lawn intact (we hope!)

  8. Ali Says:

    We have a large fenced area for the hens, which has saved my flower beds and the veggie garden, but allows them to free range. In the fall, we let them in the fenced-in vegetable garden to bat cleanup — eating bug larvae, eating dropped tomatoes, bolted lettuce, etc. They love it and it is so useful! When we get our load of composted manure, we count on the girls to scratch it into the soil. It is all about managing them, and reaping the reward ’cause I love those free-range eggs!!

  9. Lisa Says:

    We had to make a fenced area for them…they used to be totally free range but got into too much trouble. Now they have managed to destroy their fenced area as well. :(

  10. Kathryn and Ari Says:

    We can empathize–at least vicariously! Our friends are raising heriloom turkeys for Thanksgiving: they’ve never been so excited to kill birds in their life (and after listening to their trials and tribulations, we don’t have much sympathy for the one about to grace our table).

  11. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    Jeez, they really had a hankering for some fresh greens, huh? How frustrating!

Comments are closed.


