Baby, it’s cold outside

doodlebug

Her Royal Highness, Princess Paisley Anne Doodlebug, enjoying a warm spot in our cold house.

It is COLD here at Henbogle.  Last night the low was 14°F.  Average temps in November are in the 40s.  Last weekend, it was weirdly warm, in the 60°s.  Now, the deep freeze.  My head is spinning!

I haven’t been in the hoop house yet to see how things are faring in the cold — it is that dark time of year when it is barely light when I leave for work, and dark when I get home.  I’m hoping that the greens in there will survive to become part of our Thanksgiving feast.img_33281

Yesterday was last regular farmer’s market of the season.  Our Thanksgiving Day meal will feature as much Henbogle grown food as i can manage, and the rest will be from Maine –with the exception of Dan’s Ocean Spray Cranberry Hair Gel Sauce.

At the market I bought a stash of root vegetables: turnips, carrots, and parsnips.  I also picked up a loaf of gorgeous bread, a few Baldwin apples, and when I saw these currant tomatoes, well, I snapped up 2 pints.  Aren’t they beautiful?  If you close your eyes and stand close to the oven when you eat them, you can imagine it is summer.

5 Responses to “Baby, it’s cold outside”

  1. ProfTheory Says:

    I’m sure you, Dan, and Mom will have delicious Thanksgiving dinner.

  2. Kim Says:

    It sure is cold. We are excited to bring lots of farm raised/grown foods to the table. How did last weekends event go? Did you learn anything about local buying clubs?

  3. Robin Says:

    Hair gel….hahahahahahahaha!

    This temp change is drastic!

  4. jeannie177 Says:

    I’m glad to here about your thanksgiving dinner! Buddy and I will be spending it down here in Florida. The Campgrounds provide the turkey and we the people here suppy the rest! It should be fun. And it has been a little cool down here. last 4 days during the day it only got up to about 68′ and down to 40′ something at night. I’m glad we have a furnace in the camper and the house hunt is still on! Love you both Jean

  5. wf Says:

    : )

Comments are closed.


