That salty sweet thing

img_3453Kim was right, these are yummy, even if they aren’t local or good for you!

There is a fairly significant tedium/OCD nightmare component, and looking at the pile of foil wrappers at the end made me question the whole concept, but I bet our papergirl enjoyed them!

I used a mix of milk chocolate and dark chocolate kisses, and regular and peanut butter m&ms.  All were totally yummy.  I’m not a white chocolate fan, so I stuck with the more traditional kisses.   I also tried the mini candy-coated Hershey’s img_3456kisses, but man, those things were NASTY!  They smelled and tasted like chemical food coloring, yuk!  And no, I don’t own stock in m&m Mars, dammit.  I wish I did!

To make them, I used Snyders buttery pretzel grids.  I would in future choose a non buttery-flavor pretzel product, but that’s what was available at the time.  I laid out the grids on my trusty Chicago-Metallic ungreased jelly roll pan.  (No need for greasing or oiling the pan, even though these are NOT non-stick pans, they released just fine.) Place a kiss in the center of each pretzel, and heat in a 170°F oven for 8 minutes.  Place an m&m on each kiss and gently squish.  Let cool.

2 Responses to “That salty sweet thing”

  1. Kim Says:

    I saw this recently on someone eles blog and I just bought all the fixins to make them tonight. :)

  2. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Tag! You’re it! I’m tagging you with a Bookworm Award, Ali. Details here:

    http://livingthefrugallife.blogspot.com/2008/12/news-items.html

    -Kate

Comments are closed.


