Spring countdown

Thus far, my only unhappiness with WordPress versus Blogger is that WordPress doesn’t allow me to post a countdown timer, counting down the days until spring, as Blogspot did.  Sigh.  It is making me very unhappy.

8 Responses to “Spring countdown”

  1. Mrs.Flam Says:

    Ugg , I know what you mean. WP wont let you do things like Blogger and Blogger is nowhere as simple to use with great complexity.

    *sighs* It Annoys me greatly.

  2. Robin Says:

    If you find a counter you like I might be able to write the coding to insert into a widget.

  3. Di Says:

    Check out SpringWidget. You can see one of their countdown widgets on my blog:

    http://needlemarket.com/quiltedmoments/?p=468

    I believe you can customize it, also.

  4. ProfTheory Says:

    Question:
    Do you need to pay WordPre$$ to allow custom code to be added?

  5. Ali Says:

    Awww, thanks, Robin! Because I don’t host my own blog, WP does not allow code containing java, etc. as they feel it is a security risk. So I don’t think I can post one. I;ll have to do something manually I guess.

    Ali

  6. mangochild Says:

    I don’t have my own site either, but WP does have some internal widgets/codes that they do allow (you can search from your dashboard) – do you think one of those might work? I hear your frustration, I used to have a blog on Blogger, but other aspects of that system bothered me so I am on WP now and overall prefer it, but some things are still lacking. Nothing’s perfect I guess….

  7. mangochild Says:

    Question too: do you know why on WP blogs, my name doesn’t link to my blog as it does on non-WP blogs? Is that a systemic thing, or just a wonkiness in how I’m set up? I’m at http://livinginalocalzone.wordpress.com/

  8. Kim Says:

    I will have to check that out, that’s a good idea.

Comments are closed.


