Not looking so good….

We’ve had some losses under the row covers in the hoophouse.

img_3615

I think that is the purple sprouting broccoli above.

img_3616

I think that is a Brussels sprout.

img_3617

These were lettuces — looking very dead now….

img_3618

Naturally my first year of hoop house growing, we’ve had the coldest, darkest winter in years.  Sigh.  Well, I’ll still be able to get an early start in the spring.  Today it was in the 50°s, and we’re getting some rain, now.  Spring will be here.

7 Responses to “Not looking so good….”

  1. Kim Says:

    What a bummer. It has been a cold winter. It did sure feel like spring was in the air today.

  2. Claire Says:

    Hmmmm…definitely some losses there. We have had some terrible frosty temps this winter. I wonder how you can do further insulating. Was there any straw on these before their demise? Do you suppose they might perk back up? What plans do you have to prevent this for future winters? I want to do this hoop house thing too!

  3. Robin Says:

    You might be able to save the lettuce. The outer leaves were too old. Young leaves have pliable cell walls. They can stretch with freezing without bursting. These older leaves could have been eaten. Clean up the dead leaves and look for signs of life in the center of the plants. If they’re not dead they should start growing as soon as they’re not weighted down and get light.

    The broccoli and sprouts don’t look dead yet. If they perk up on warm days they’ll make it. They might not produce as well as a fresh seedling. You can plant cold weather lettuce around the plants to get a new crop started while you wait to see what the broc and sprouts are going to do.

  4. El Says:

    Well, don’t pull anything out yet, Ali! After our week of warm temps the deadest looking lettuces are putting out new growth here. I concur with Robin: it’s time to start seeding.

    Next year might be better for you because the hoop house would have been warm all summer and the ground won’t have been able to freeze. (That is, are you keeping the plastic on over the summer? I do (not that I have a choice, it’s pretty permanent) and I was amazed by how well it worked for the hot-loving things. This year I am even going to attempt okra and peanuts!

  5. Daphne Gould Says:

    So sad. I’m hoping they aren’t totally dead. I’m still waiting to see if my plants made it but they are still covered in snow. It is melting out with the nice 50 degree weather we had yesterday and the 40s we are getting today.

  6. nancybond Says:

    That is very disappointing. But I’m sure you’ll get things growing and going again. :)

  7. Ali Says:

    Thanks for the advice and support. I hope I’ll be able to get out there this weekend and clean up the dead leaves and poke a few cold hardy seeds in the ground.

Comments are closed.


