Sure signs of spring

img_3621

Laundry on the line, not frozen.

img_36231

Positively balmy temperatures in the hoophouse.

img_3624

Seeds and gardening gloves at the ready.

img_3622

Soil is prepped for planting.  (Note a few chard plants and brassicas remain alive.)

img_3625

Seeded, sprinkled with snow for moisture.  Spinach, lettuce, radiccio, and escarole.

img_3627

Tucked in with floating row cover, awaiting awakening, and eating.

8 Responses to “Sure signs of spring”

  1. nancybond Says:

    Oh, lucky you! The line-dried laundry is a bonus itself! I’m glad you’re seeing some light at the end of this long tunnel. :)

  2. blossom Says:

    sure .. spring is coming …

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    You really make me wish for a hoop house :>

  4. Robin Says:

    Don’t you want to move into the hoop house some days??

  5. mangochild Says:

    :-) This post just made me smile all over.

  6. Weez Says:

    This morning I saw a pair of Hooded Merganser in a small pond near the house (Dutchess Co., NY), a sure sign of spring!

  7. Kathryn and Ari Says:

    It DOES feel like spring, doesn’t it? Even with today’s snow, I can just tell it’s in the air. I returned home from a ski a little after 5:00 today. And it was -still- light outside. Thank goodness for small pleasures, eh?

  8. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    Ooooh – I love that temperature in the hoop house. Makes me want to crawl right in! C’mon spring – we’re all ready for ya! :-)

Comments are closed.


