Spring, glorious spring

img_3646Fickle March teased us unmercifully this weekend here at Henbogle, with temperature in the 50s and a mix of sun and clouds, heavy on the sun.  Two fabulously sunny days provided a big boost to the spirits, and really got my gardening juices flowing again.  It  is past time, actually, to start some seeds.

img_3645

So, I did.  We set up the seed starting cart, and I sowed:

6 tomato plants, started early to go in the hoophouse;  2 Speckled Roman paste,  2 Pineapple heirloom, 1 Tigerella, 1 Cosmonaut Volkov

1 cedar flat of leeks

1 cedar flat of Crimson Forest bunching onions

1 cedar flat of white bunching onions

img_3649

Dan and I also began an experiment with winter sowing.  In mini-greenhouses made from gallon jugs, we planted seeds of cold-hardy plants, broccoli, kale, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, and chard.

Dan cut the jugs on three sides, leaving one side uncut to act as a hinge, and img_3651pokes some holes in the bottom for drainage.  We added potting mix, sowed our seeds, and taped the jugs shut, leaving the caps off for some air and for watering.  Then, transported them out to the hoophouse.  We’ll see what happens, and report back.

All in all, a good day, and maybe the memory will help me keep my sanity if, as predicted, it snows tomorrow.

5 Responses to “Spring, glorious spring”

  1. Sugarcamp Says:

    Good luck with the winter seeding in milk containers. The idea looks very plausible to me.

  2. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    By golly, there’s a DONKEY on the outside of your compost bag. Love that. :-)
    I like the idea of the milk jug mini greenhouses, but what’s the plan there? Is this just to tide them over until it gets warm enough to plant them outside with no protection?

  3. Ali Says:

    Leave it to you to notice the donkey, Danni! Yes, the milk jugs are just to provide a mini greenhouse until the seedlings are big enough to transplant. And since they will have been outside all the while, no hardening off needed. Once the seedlings are transplanted, we can use the milk jugs as hotcaps as seen here: https://henbogle.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/happiness-is-gardening/
    The hotcaps perform several functions, they warm the tender young plants, and protect from slugs and other pests.

  4. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    I like the milk jug idea! Most of the milk I buy comes in paperboard tetrapaks, which I have also been using for seed starting. But the few plastic jugs I have, I was planning to use as ollas for my winter squash plants, so that I don’t need to get their leaves wet when I water. I may have to collect a few more for next year.

  5. Daphne Gould Says:

    We had a couple of wonderful days too. Sadly I didn’t get any gardening done during them. I keep seeing people wintersowing. I thought I’d be doing it right now, but just haven’t gotten my act together.

Comments are closed.


