Americans are growing their own

Vegetables, that is.  The Bangor Daly News is reporting that Maine’s seed companies are busier than, well, farmers in the springtime.  Johnny’s, Fedco, and Pinetree Garden Seeds are all reporting double digit sales increases.  Pinetree Garden seeds reports the sales increases are on the vegetable side of their business.  Go gardeners!

3 Responses to “Americans are growing their own”

  1. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Yep. I’d heard late last year that the seed sellers anticipated greatly increased demand. That’s what motivated me to get my orders in very early. I’m really glad I did. And Sharon Astyk has been advocating that we stock up on a few years’ worth of seeds, so even greater demand there from those who heed that call.

    There’s not a business I would prefer to see doing well in a down economy.

  2. nancybond Says:

    It’s a wonderful trend — I hope it continues to grow!

  3. mangochild Says:

    Great news! Yes, planting veg seems to be taking off here too, and I hope that it motivates more communities to make it even more accessible – having community gardens, support for local farmers…. I think that its one of those things that needs a push to get started from people who are buying seeds, trying to garden on a small scale, and then it can take off on its own as the opportunities and advantages kick in.

Comments are closed.


