Michelle Obama breaks ground

on the White House vegetable garden tomorrow on the South Lawn.  According to the NY Times, “almost the entire Obama family, including the president, will pull weeds.

The article includes a plot map, and goes on to say it will be organic,  made up of raised beds, will include 55 different fruits and vegetables, and that the “total cost for the seeds, mulch, etc., is $200.”  Somehow I find that difficult to believe.  Whatever, I am just ecstatic it will happen.

5 Responses to “Michelle Obama breaks ground”

  1. Daphne Gould Says:

    BTW the link has an extra http in it so it doesn’t work right now.

    I think they are cheating in that number. They are growing berries. Blueberries, blackberries, raspberries and rhubarb (no strawberries!) are all put in as plants and those can add up. They have all that fertilizer. I wonder if they got donations? I can see a nursery offering free plants if they put a garden on the lawn. I’d love to see the numbers from that. Maybe it is just what has been spent so far? If so I’m sure it will add up.

    • Ali Says:

      Thanks, Daphne. I fixed the link.

      I couldn’t believe she isn’t planting strawberries, either. Maybe there are too many rodents in D.C. I hear they love strawberries.

      And yeah, $200 will not even begin to cover the expenses. Maybe nurseries donated plants, one of the photos shows a flat of seedlings. They better get their spinach planted before it bolt!

      But anyway, the real point is yay, there is a veggie garden on the white house lawn. How awesome it that?!

  2. Barbee' Says:

    Grandly awesome! I’m glad you posted about it.

  3. DennisP Says:

    Did you see the picture of Michelle digging up some dirt? Did she look like a gardener? No blue jeans, no flannel shirt, no work gloves? It was strictly a photo op – nothing realistic about gardening. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all in favor of a White House garden. But I would have been a whole lot more impressed if she had actually looked like a working gardener. But then, I think I read somewhere that she has never actually had a garden. So she probably doesn’t even know what a gardener looks like.

  4. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Yeah, I agree the $200 figure sounds as though it were plucked out of thin air. Not realistic. Though I did read that the seedlings came from the White House greenhouse. Maybe it’s the case that the budget for that greenhouse, wherever it is, is being considered separately from the garden project.

    In any case, I’m right there with you in being all in favor of the White House garden. I hope they also use it as a platform to talk – often and loudly – about food security issues, frugality, and healthy eating habits. The more they drive these messages home, the better. And even if Michelle looks too lovely and clean to be a real gardener, perhaps that will fool some non-gardeners into getting dirt under their fingernails for the first time.

Comments are closed.


