Spring chores

img_3683

March 21, 2009

We had a lovely dose of spring yesterday, it was heavenly, with clear blue skies and temps in the 50s.  I even got a mild sunburn on my face from starting seeds out on the deck. As you can see comparing the above photo to the below photo, we’ve made quite a bit of progress with the melt-off.

March 15, 2009

March 15, 2009

I started the day with a load of laundry hung to dry on the line, then we headed out for maple pancake breakfast at Goranson’s Farm and sugarhouse in celebration of maple season. MMMM mmmmm!  After breakfast Dan did some spring cleaning while I planted another round of seeds.img_3688

Last fall, Dan scored some nice copper screens at the recycling station/dump.  We put the screens under the bird feeders to make cleaning up the seed hulls and dropped seed easier.  Yesterday, Dan got out the shop vac and vacuumed up everything that was thawed.  As more thaws, we will keep cleaning it up.  We learned today that Dan’s mom found several dead Pine Siskins near her house.  She called the Cornell Ornithology Lab and they said the birds were most likely dying from salmonella poisoning from eating wet seed off the ground under the feeders.  Yikes!  We are really glad we cleaned that up yesterday.

img_3690

This weekend I started Peppers, Marigolds, Lettuce, Basil and Purple Sprouting Broccoli.  Today, I will start more Peppers, Beets and Parsley.  I love spring, it feels so good to get my fingers dirty again.

8 Responses to “Spring chores”

  1. nancybond Says:

    Love your perfect, spring-themed header, first of all. Your snow melt looks a bit like ours, though I do think we might be ahead of you in the “bare patches” department. You’ve got a great start on your seedlings, and great bit of advice about watching for moldy seeds!

  2. Daphne Gould Says:

    I’ve been having fun getting my fingers dirty too. I had long fingernails over the winter. Now I’ve got them all cut down again.

  3. Kathryn and Ari Says:

    Great minds think alike–at least where maple syrup is concerned!

    Looks like mud season is treating you kindly. Our driveway is a NIGHTMARE right now!

    • Ali Says:

      Dan says (at least 800 times) every spring :I am so glade we have a paved driveway!” in this super-fervent tone. Hope things solidify soon!

  4. jeannie177 Says:

    Looks like you and Dan have it down pat Ali! And Happy Equinox!!! And that was interesting about what you said about the birds at Mom’s house.
    Also Buddy and I are coming back up north April 13.
    Love you

Comments are closed.


