A little bedraggled

img_3659Poor Ginger is molting.  Kind of a tough time of year to loose your feathers, (it was just 10°F this morning) but at least her new ones are starting to grow in.  New chicks arrive in 2 batches, the week of April 20 and the following week.  This year, our local chick supplier did not have our beloved Golden Comets, so we ordered Americaunas, New Hampshire Reds and Black Sex-Links.  I would like to have some Barred Rocks, to round out the flock but we’ll see….

4 Responses to “A little bedraggled”

  1. Daphne Gould Says:

    The poor chicken looks very out of sorts. I’m really surprised she molted when it was so cold out. They must be programmed by the sun and not the temperature.

  2. Claire Says:

    Poor Ginger….she’ll be back to beautiful soon! I love my Ameraucanas. I hope you get some nice colors in your order. They are often my friendliest hens.

  3. Lisa Says:

    I got six Barred Rocks last year. Boy-I didn’t know what I was getting myself into! These girls have: gone after my 170lb dog and pecked him on the nose (more than once),chased song birds out of the yard, completely obilterated their pen and turned it into a moonscape and succeeded in eating chunks of the insulation on our house’s foundation…
    I have since become a firm believer in chicken tractors and will be confining them this year-for everyone’s own good!!

  4. jeannie177 Says:

    In away ginger looks kinda pretty. I hope the new girls do well with the older gals. I read Lisa’s note and I hope you don’t have the same problems.

Comments are closed.


