I loves me some fresh Maine seafood

img_37041There is just nothing better than Maine seafood, hours from the briny deep.  Dan has seagoing connections and manages to purchase seafood straight from the fisherman.  Seen here is 30 lbs. of shelled shrimp being repackaged into 1 lb. portions to go in the freezer.

Maine shrimp are tiny, tender, and sweet.  They freeze well, provided you thaw them slowly prior to dinner in order to retain the best texture. Cook them gently until just cooked through.

Of course dinner Thursday night was shrimp.  I made a light tomato sauce with garlic and olive oil over pasta.  MMMMMM.  We’ll use these shrimp over the year for seafood chowder, shrimp and pasta, tortilla soup with shrimp, shrimp bisque, jambalaya, tacos, etc.

Let’s not forgot Atlantic sea scallops; second only to lobster in the delicacy  department.  Maine scallops are simply amazing. So fresh, they smell sweet with a faint briny tang.  By the time we cooked them, they were less than 24 hours out of the water.  img_3712Dinner last night:  Seared Scallops with Ginger Sauce. Our friend Karen contributed butter lettuce with lemon and fresh asparagus sauteed in olive oil with garlic.  We were in hog heaven.  Thanks, Karen!


5 Responses to “I loves me some fresh Maine seafood”

  1. deborah Says:

    Minnesota has some wonderful home grown food stuffs, but no fresh seafood of course. How lovely. And less than 24 hours from sea to table! Can life get much better than that? Thanks for sharing.

  2. Daphne Gould Says:

    Ok now you made me hungry and I’ve already eaten lunch.

  3. shellywoman Says:

    ooooooooh envy –

  4. islandgardener Says:

    Even though I live along the coast in VA, your post made me hungry for Maine and Maine seafood! I haven’t been up your way for 3 years…maybe I need to plan a trip!

    • Ali Says:

      I highly recommend a trip :-). Let me know when you are coming and I’ll share my recommendations for the best seafood places!

Comments are closed.


