Saving seed

I’ve been feeling vaguely guilty about not saving more of my own seed these days, what with all the buzz about seed saving and projects like Seed to Seed out in blogland.  This terrific post on seed saving at Throwback at Trapper Creek helped me realize that maybe I shoud not feel guilty, that not having the time or resources to really do it right might be doing myself, and the plants, a disservice.

2 Responses to “Saving seed”

  1. Daphne Gould Says:

    I think you really have to be careful what seed you save. I’m working on the easy ones that don’t have inbreeding depression problems so if I only collect from one plant it isn’t the end of the world. I’m staying far away from the brassicas because they are just too hard. They require too much space. Tomatoes and dried beans are so easy though. You pick them at their ripe stage and they probably haven’t crossed. I’m thinking of also saving peas, squash and peppers since they aren’t that hard. I might do lettuce if I think I have the space to let some go to seed. None of those plants will suffer if I only collect from one, though I’ll make sure the squash gets at least two plants. Yes my seeds will have less genetic diversity, but as long as it works in my environment that is OK.

  2. 10yearchallenge Says:

    There is a good book you might want to check out called Seed to Seed. It has info about saving all types of seeds.

Comments are closed.


