Peepers!

peeperSpring is really here.  We’ve heard and seen the red-winged blackbirds, I saw grackles mating Saturday, and Sunday night, Dan called me out to the deck to hear one of my favorite sounds:  spring peepers.

Spring peepers are small coppery brown frogs, Pseudacris crucifer, and their high-pitched peeps are actually the males calling to attract a mate.  They hibernate in cold Maine winters, and in mid-spring, awaken when warm rain falls, and the ice is out on a nearby pond where they will breed.  Check out the link to Wikipedia to hear a recording.

Photo by Norm Walsh via Flickr
4 Responses to “Peepers!”

  1. nancybond Says:

    Aren’t they amazing, and the true marker of spring for me. We heard them for the first time Friday night, but not since as it has turned colder again with lots of rain. I’m glad spring has finally come in the east. ;)

  2. sarah Says:

    I moved to the city two years ago and never hear the peepers anymore, I always loved falling asleep at night listening to them. I can’t wait to move back to the country.

  3. sjones71 Says:

    Oh my… I love, love, love the peepers! We’re just hearing them now in Connecticut, but the loud chorus has not yet begun.

  4. Nina Says:

    Oh yes! I called everyone I could think og on Saturday night when I heard them. My very favorite sound in the world!!! They keep me company when I am out late at night checking on the lambs :* )

Comments are closed.


