Peas, please

Ahh, spring.  I await it patiently (snort!) all winter, then when it finally happens, feel like I’m trying to outrun an avalanche.  Yippee!!

img_3830Part of this is a result of a BigEvent at work, the kind of event that 4 people used to manage, when it was only one day, but now I manage it, and it is now it is a two day event.  Yay for competence!  Anyway, it left me so tuckered that I did virtually NO GARDENING all weekend.  I barely managed an amble about the yard and make a plan, but I did.  I planned peas.

Monday, I sifted some compost, prepped one of the raised beds, and planted peas.  Lincoln shelling pea, Sugar Ann snap peas, and I found the missing pea packet last night of Cascadia Peas.  Dan helped me install some fencing as pea trellis.  In front of the low wire fencing, I will plant radishes and lettuce.  Post-peas, we will be removing this raised bed, which is all but rotted away.img_3833

Did I mention it is vacation week?  I do love April school vacation, it comes just when I need some time to get ahead of the gardening avalanche.

Post peas, I raked the old mulch, infested with creeping Charlie, out of the blueberries, and weeded them.  Next I’ll fertilize with Holly Tone, and re-mulch, probably with straw as we have a good supply.

We are getting some rain today, and heading to Portland to the Apple Store and then are picking up Dan’s mom at the airport.  YAY!

5 Responses to “Peas, please”

  1. joyce Says:

    i have my trellis up also looks just like yours

  2. Daphne Gould Says:

    I guess one of the joys of teaching is a nicely timed vacation. It was a nice day for planting peas.

  3. sjones71 Says:

    I love those cascadia peas. Absolute favorite.

    Hope you get to enjoy the vacation time!

  4. mangochild Says:

    What a good time for vacation :-) Your trellis looks ready to hold the masses of peas to come soon.

  5. O. Says:

    I am relieved that Holly does hove tone. Now, if she only had tune to go along with it, it would be a hot time at the karioke bar! :)

Comments are closed.


