Meet the stars

Our Black Star chicks have fabulous new names.  Meet Odetta, Aretha, Etta, Tina, and Eartha.  Thanks Beth for your rockin’ suggestion for names!img_3884 They are now over a week old and are growing amazingly rapidly.  Note the wing development.  Today I saw one of them achieve lift over the food dish.

The girls were joined Tuesday afternoon by 5 Ameraucana (Easter Egg) chicks, which will lay tinted eggs.  Loretta, Lola, Layla, Lucy and Lily are extremely cute, and are already growing wing feathers.img_3871 They seem slightly calmer than the Stars, settling comfortably in your hand for a cuddle and a nap more readily than the Stars do.

It will be fun to see what they will look like as they reach maturity.  They are certainly cute now!

4 Responses to “Meet the stars”

  1. Kim Says:

    Love the chicks names! Good idea keeping the sticks in grain bags for the woodstove. I’ll mention that one to hubby!

  2. Julie Says:

    Enjoyed reading how you named your girls. I am making a list as mine arrive next week!

  3. keewee Says:

    Great names for cute chicks.

  4. Heather Says:

    I can’t wait to get my chicks! Yours just make me that much more impatient! They are adorable and I just bet you are having fun:-D

Comments are closed.


