Favorite garden tools

Margaret, head gardener at A Way to Garden, is judging a garden tool contest at Beekman 1802.  Of course I entered, and encourage you too, as well.  After all, I love repurposed tools, and love a good idea even more.
Favorite tools:
1)    the nail rake from my father’s hardware store for weeding and cultivating
2)    an old golf cart as tool cart – perfect for hoes, shovel, loppers, etc.
3)    retired political signs as row cover hoops
4)   milk crate as perfect square foot marker; some crates can even be used as a planting grid
5)    lovely dibbles hand carved from roots and branches
6)    old plastic toboggan to haul large plants manure, hay bales, etc.
7)    retired metal mailboxes as nearby storage for hand tools, hose parts., etc.
8)   retired kitchen sink as a garden sink for washing produce, etc.
9)    former plastic food barrels as rain barrels
10)   pvc piping and rebar as hoops for a low plastic tunnel

Others I would add:

what are your favorite garden tools/tricks?

6 Responses to “Favorite garden tools”

  1. weekendfarmer Says:

    great ideas…I think I borrowed (err stole) some of them already last year : )

  2. Tessa at Blunders with shoots, blossoms 'n roots Says:

    I really love these ideas!

  3. joyce Says:

    o love your idea about using the slinky to deter squirrels i have to go out and buy some slinkys,

  4. Brent Says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your tips as part of America’s Oldest, Largest Garden Party at Beekman 1802. Good luck!!

  5. Angie Says:

    Oh, loooove the milk crate ideas. I knew there was a reason I was collecting them from the alley! I have about 30. Thanks!!!

Comments are closed.


