Vegetable garden update

IMG_3936We’ve had some needed rain here at Henbogle, and as a result, things are looking lush and green.  Overnight, the maple and other trees leafed out, the flowering crabs are beginning to bloom, and the lilacs buds are filling out, almost ready to bloom.

Things in the hoophouse are growing like gangbusters.  As always (will I ever learn?) I have more lettuce than I can eat, and the best spinach I’ve ever IMG_3931grown.  Conditions in the hoophouse appear to be perfect for early spinach.  Saturday,I transplanted in more lettuce, Red Sails and assorted green lettuces, Rainbow Lights Swiss chard, cilantro and flat leaf parsley.  I also planted some cucumber (Sweet Success and Zagross) and melon (Prescott Fond Blanc) seeds behind the chard under the milk jug hot caps.  Beyond those plants are my peppers, planted two weeks ago.  IMG_3929Across from the peppers are more brassicas, Gonzales cabbage and purple sprouting broccoli.  Intermingled are onions, more cilantro, and parsley.  Behind the bright green lettuce are tucked my spindly little tomatoes, planted with the peppers.  They look good with the exception of the Speckled Roman, which seem to be sulking a bit.  Awaiting space are marigold and basil seedlings, and my extra pepper plants.

Dan and I set out more broccoli, IMG_3934cauliflower and sprouting broccoli and tucked it in well under floating row cover.  The raised bed planted with peas and salad greens is filling out, although the Bulls Blood beets germinated sporadically.  I’ve also got a box of leek starts impatiently awaiting a permanent location.  More lettuce and Minuet Napa cabbage is growing under floating row cover on one end of the other raised bed (no pic).  At the other end are more broccoli, cauliflower and cabbage.

The main garden is still drying out and warming up.  I hope it will soon be ready for working, but who knows, we have more rain in the forecast.  More and more, I am thinking raised beds are the answer here, or another really big greenhouse!
For dinner tonight:  scrambled eggs with spinach, mmmm!

4 Responses to “Vegetable garden update”

  1. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Too much lettuce? I know, right there with you. It’s salad for dinner and lettuce with lunch everyday for the foreseeable future. But didn’t you say you were Planting A Row this year? Foist it on someone else! I took my first contribution to the food bank/soup kitchen last week. I should have taken more, (we could spare it) but I have a date to go again the last week of the month.

  2. mangochild Says:

    Yes, my lettuce is growing like a fiend and its a staple (well, the center!) of lunches and dinners. But I am glad of it after the winter of stored food. Your plants look so good, particularly the greens. And I agree with Kate, some food banks here are working on getting/distributing fresh veg along with more traditional staples. Some can’t because of regulations, but there is one here that does, and I am sure it is much appreciated by the clients.

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    If I lived up in Maine I think I’d want a really huge greenhouse. I’m doing ok with lettuce right now. Just the correct amount, but I think I’m going to be inundated in about two weeks. We will see.

  4. Don Says:

    i have hoop house envy! your place looks great! I agree that people toss some interesting stuff. those doors look so nice

Comments are closed.


