Frost

We’ve had a cool spring here at Henbogle, and last night we had a frost.  Our frost date is supposedly May 10.  The temperature in the hoophouse this morning was 30.3°F, brr.  That was the reading by the open end wall, I don’t think anything got nipped in there, though.  Last night I moved all the seedlings we are hardening off into the hoophouse, where they will stay for the next few days until we can set everything out –maybe this weekend!

Now, off to the hoophouse to water and look things over.

4 Responses to “Frost”

  1. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    I guess frost is the theme of the day. Hope your seedlings all pulled through alright. Nothing looks damaged in my garden, thank goodness!

  2. Tessa at Blunders with shoots, blossoms 'n roots Says:

    Oh, May 10? I guess if I move I’d better get used to later last spring frost dates! I plan to have a much bigger greenhouse and winter garden like Eliot Coleman ;). Nice thing about cooler weather though, you don’t need to water as much :)

  3. Emily Says:

    We had a frost last night too here in VT. Our last frost date is usually closer to the end of May so it’s not unusual. Can’t wait for the warm weather!

  4. mangochild Says:

    Its been cool here too, but thankfully we were spared the frost in my area of CT. I hear this weekend and early next week brings a warmup – I hope you get one too. Those seedlings appreciate your care, I’m sure.

Comments are closed.


