Summer begins?

Today was Dan’s last day of school for the year.  I have a few items to finish up and then I too will be done for the summer.  And this is the forecast:

Picture 1

Sob.

6 Responses to “Summer begins?”

  1. susan Says:

    You must live near me…that has been our forcast for the past 2 weeks and more is coming!

  2. Ann Says:

    First week home from school means tons of sleeping in and recovering from the extra stress at the end of the year – with rain at least you can sleep in and not feel guilty you aren’t getting done all the projects that have had to been put off.

  3. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Uh huh. Could the sun come out for five %$@& minutes???

    We had a minute or two of wan sunlight yesterday, and it didn’t rain until about 4pm. So we had maybe one 18-hour stretch without rain this week. That gave us enough time to run down and get a free pickup load of mulch (we loaded), but not enough time to spread it out. Now it’s windy and raining. I’m trying very hard to look on the bright side and remind myself that I don’t need to worry about watering the parsnip or shallot seeds I planted a few days ago.

    We’re at twice our average month-to-date rainfall. Several of my carnation poppies have keeled over with a black fungus. Grrrr.

  4. mangochild Says:

    Yup. It seems that the weather only has one day of sunshine in it for the week – for the past 2-3 weeks! This is not right for June! And it is making it difficult to get that okra out I’ve been planning for the past 2-3 weeks. They are fast outgrowing even their larger pots indoors, but it is just too cold, even with the cold-frame. Sigh.

  5. Linda Says:

    I found your blog this spring and really enjoy it. We live in central ME and share your pain with this wet, wet June. I think my pumpkin seeds rotted, and the corn is just two inches high. I want my warmth and sunshine and I want it now!

  6. Weez Says:

    Hi guys!
    I visited Mom this weekend and her rain guage measured 4.5″ since the 1st of June; I can’t take it anymore, before ya know it we’ll need an ark!!!!!!!!!!!
    I have to make sure I take my vitamin D supplement every day!
    Will we see the sun on Mon. the 22nd? >>>>when I go back to work!!!
    I’m now afraid that my bearded iris will rot, they don’t like wet feet!

    Down this way the farmers hay fields have gone to seed and the rain has beaten it down making cutting impossible, plus they can’t get the crop in when it’s raining as much as it has. The only plus side is that the local strawberries are fat & sweet! Hope we see a rainbow soon!

Comments are closed.


