Munched no more

IMG_4012We’ve had out hav-a-hart trap out for weeks, trying to catch a groundhog living under our neighbors garage, and snacking at our place.  He snubbed all the offerings we left in the trap.  Fortunately for us, he only managed to get into to the vegetable garden twice, digging under the fence where a post had heaved from the frost (a titmouse is nesting in the birdhouse atop the post, so we have not pounded the post back in).

He chomped down all my carefully saved and transplanted dill seedlings, got some parsley in the hoophouse, and nibbled here and there; worst damaged were my peas, sigh.  He made quite a mess of them, it isn’t looking good for peas on Independence Day.

Dan cleverly relocated the trap near the garden gate, and re-baited it with some pea plants.  I’m happy to report, IT WORKED.  Sometime yesterday after I left for work, he was caught.  Unfortunately for the groundhog, he succumbed during the day, probably from heatstroke.  Much as I loathe the little rodent, I hope he didn’t suffer too much.

YAY he’s gone, and maybe we’ll be rodent free for the remainder of the year.

2 Responses to “Munched no more”

  1. mangochild Says:

    Good thoughts that the rodents remain out of your garden all season long. Very smart about the relocation of the trap. I’m sorry about the peas. Although, you know, it makes sense that he would go for the best part of the garden – we love those peas too!

  2. Giddy Says:

    I’m happy to see my garden is about as far along as yours. We so desperately need the sun!

Comments are closed.


