And now for some good news

IMG_4047

Today’s harvest:  chard, Tuscan kale, 9 snow peas (the few the rodent left), scallions garlic scapes.  Not shown, 3 gallons bags of washed lettuce.

I cooked the chard stems, peas, and garlic scapes lightly and tossed them with multigrain spaghetti and spicy peanut sauce.  YUM!

6 Responses to “And now for some good news”

  1. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Yay! Nice harvest. Those look like rocambole scapes. Yes? I’m quite jealous of your kale harvest. For the life of me I can’t figure out why my plants are not growing this year. They just seem to have stopped at a few inches tall. I’ve started over but SO frustrating!

  2. julie Says:

    Now that is a nice healthy harvest. I did notice blossoms on my tomato plants, lettuce is two inches high and no Japanese Beetles. I take this as a positive sign. If we could only manage to get stawberry picking in between the rain drops!

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    Chard always seems to be the prettiest plant in my harvest, just like it is in yours. All I seem to get are peas and greens. Last year I was picking squash and cucumbers by now. I guess I’ll be thankful for my peas and greens.

  4. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    Yum. The way you prepared your garden harvest was brilliant…spicy peanut sauce…YUM!!!

  5. mangochild Says:

    YEY! Chard is so pretty, and one of my fav vegs to eat :-) I’m glad you were able to have a good day and harvest, it is these things that redeem it all after things like the brassica struggles. I’d never have thought to pair chard and peas – it’s something to try.

    • Ali Says:

      Well, there were only 9 peas, 4.5 each, so it wasn’t really a pairing….. but tasty nonetheless.

Comments are closed.


