Insect discrimination

IMG_4068Yes, I happily discriminate:  Parsleyworms, aka Black Swallowtail butterfly larvae, are welcomed with open arms.  The five in this photo are on parsley in the hoophouse.

IMG_4065

5 Responses to “Insect discrimination”

  1. jeannie177 Says:

    I’m glad you discriminate descretley. I love to watch butterflies. They float so pretty like, along through the wildflower fields.

  2. Sarah Says:

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I can’t wait to look through your site for tips on building my own coop! I’m sure I’ll be coming to you later with questions :) Have a great day!

  3. Tessa Says:

    Just beautiful- makes me want to get my bigger greenhouse up very soon. I had to rescue a butterfly in my small 6×10 just the other day. As small as it is in there it would have died fast from the heat.

  4. Kim Says:

    I’m with you on the discrimination. I plant extra parsley and dill especially for these guys! I haven’t seen any yet this year, but yours look like they are getting mature. You’ll soon have butterflies.

  5. Margaret Says:

    Wow. Looking at those little guys I’m having flashbacks to my childhood. I could be mis-remembering but I swear they also eat rue. Fascinating then, and still true now.

Comments are closed.


