Weather update

IMG_4101We did manage to pick 50 lbs. of strawberries last week after two days of sun.  It took Dan and I almost three hours to pick the 50 lbs.; last year, we picked 80 lbs. in half the time.  We’ve had about 13 inches of rain since June 1, and the cool wet weather really hurt the berry crop.  We saw lots of moldy berries as we picked.

The few days of sun gave me a chance to replant some of the beans that were slug eaten, but it was so wet I didn’t get to do much else in the garden.  I have some serious weeding to do, and more replanting is needed.

The evil slugs completely ate my beloved Costata Romanesca zucchini, so I replanted my last three seeds in a pot in the barn window and will transplant when they are large enough (I hope) to withstand the slugs.

IMG_4104Despite all the slug damage, I did manage to enjoy some small heads of Graffiti purple cauliflower.  After a quick steaming it was delicious with butter and salt.  Steaming fades the brilliant purple color a bit; Ilike to roast it to enhance the shade, but steaming was faster. We are also enjoying fabulous lettuce from the garden, parsley, Swiss chard, sprouting broccoli, and soon some peas, now that they have recovered from the groundhog.  Weeding then reseeding awaits.  Gardeners are optimists.

5 Responses to “Weather update”

  1. Kim Says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of berries. We only picked 19 quarts. This weather sure has been hard on the crops. What do you do with all the berries? I froze most of mine.

  2. Erica Says:

    That IS a ton of berries haha! We did 14lbs and I was fine and dandy with that :) We froze them and made some jam. I love the purple cauliflower too, cauliflower is my favorite!

  3. Ali Says:

    Strawberries are my absolute favorite fruit, so I freeze a lot to use in fruit smoothies all year long. Strawberries, an organic banana, home-cultured yogurt, some protein powder and I’m off to a good start for the day.

  4. Kelly Says:

    Those berries look beautiful. The crops around here took quite a hit with all the rain and the damage has show in the prices at the farmer’s markets. We gotta start following your lead and invest in some pick-your-owns.

  5. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    I lost two of my three costatas to slugs while I was in Germany. One is going strong, though. Do deer eat zucchini plants?? If so, I better get some wire around that baby! :-)

Comments are closed.


