The Henbogle tomato famine

IMG_4307It’s been a rough week at Henbogle.  It’s been raining forever, we lost a chook to a raccoon (more on that later), and this morning, I pulled my blight-ridden plants from my main tomato bed.  It has been so wet I’ve been trying to stay out of the garden to avoid spreading the spores, but to no avail.  Tonight, looking into the hoophouse (I’ven been staying out to avoid spreading the blight) I could see it on the tomatoes in there.

The only bright spot?  My single Matt’s Wild Cherry tomato (Thanks M.D.) remains blight free, despite being in the worst hit area.  From what I’ve read, that variety has some resistance to blight.  It is going to need it.

As of yet there is no sign of late blight on my potatoes, but I am dreading the worst.  Tonight I also discovered it on one of the tomato plants in the far corner of the garden.  I’d say there is a very strong chance we at Henbogle won’t be eating tomatoes this year, and probably not potatoes, either.

The blighty tomatoes I pulled I bagged in black plastic bags and they will go to the incinerator with the regular garbage pickup.  I did plant a few tubs of potatoes, too.  I moved those up near the house and am hoping for the best.  If the sun would come out, we might have a chance.  But a very slim chance — the nearby farm I patronize has lost 6 acres of potatoes and lots of tomatoes, too.  The spores are everywhere.  I think this is the worst gardening year I have ever had, and that includes the year that my neighbors cows got loose and stood on my tomatoes while they ate my corn.

11 Responses to “The Henbogle tomato famine”

  1. nruit Says:

    OMG! How awful! I am so sorry to hear that. We check our tomatoes and potatoes every day, and so far, (knocking loudly on the table) so good. Wow. I haven’t been to the farmer’s market in Damariscotta to talk to those farmers recently. I hope someone manages to harvest some this year! (I am even obsessive about the eggplants, which are related to tomatoes and potatoes I think…)

    • Ali Says:

      I hope your tomatoes are ok, I will be over to help with the harvest if so :-) It is killing me, though. I wouldn’t feel so bad if I’d bought the plants, but I started them all from seed and tended them oh so carefully. Sigh.

  2. julie Says:

    This year’s growing season is a bust. Potato and Tomato blight, blueberry fungus, snails, slugs, can it get any worse? The strawberry season in our area was very short, alas,no jam was made at our house. My blueberry bushes were producing beautifully, hoping to do jam, nope, overnight the plump berries disappeared. Not even enough left for a pie. My tomatoes look promising, there is hope for the wax and string beans, carrotts, I would like to think I will be able to make Bread and Butter pickles, but one never knows. I feel like all our hard work this spring and summer just got washed away. I am so sorry to hear about your chook. Please keep us updated.

  3. Robin Says:

    My raspberries were beautiful a few days ago but because of too much rain, they’re tasteless. I’m hoping for enough blueberries and apples to make up for the lack of cherries, strawberries and raspberries.

    I’ve never seen a summer like this. It’s not too soon to start thinking about and planning for next year.

    • Ali Says:

      Spoken like a true farmer! I need to do some research about how late blight overwinters, and if I need to solarize my beds.

  4. mangochild Says:

    Ack, this is frustrating. As Julie commented before me, this season has been, well, tough for so many fruits and veg – the hard work just got trampled by the rain. I am so sorry that all of those plants are suffering the blight. It spreads so quickly, despite all the precautions. Do you think that you could get a late-crop of fall potatoes from a local farmer even if yours are in question? Maybe the cooler harvest would be spared if the weather pattern changes by then…

  5. Teresa Noelle Roberts Says:

    I’m sorry you’ve been so hard hit.

    My beans are overwhelmingly great, but much as I like beans, their abundance doesn’t make up for the nightshade-family disaster this year is shaping up to be. The only good news is the one hybrid tomato I planted seems to be resistant.

  6. mscarlita Says:

    Sorry about the tomatoes.

    Those bookcases look fantastic.

    On an unrelated note, could you email me Cuz’s email address? I seem to have lost it and want to get in touch with him about a job I’m applying for.

    Thanks.

  7. jeannie177 Says:

    Ali I feel so bad for your garden(:( I never put my tomatoe plant from Florida in the ground. I still have it in a pot. And the yellow tomatoe plant my friends gave us had the “B” word, so I had to dispose of it. and my potted tom has about 20 small tomatoes left on it. I counted 24 buds, but it was only 20 toms. Chin up though, there’s always next year.

  8. Chris Says:

    That’s just so harsh, Ali. I mean, on the one hand, it makes me feel better about my own wasteland of a garden. If you’re having trouble, what possible hope can I have? On the other hand, it’s just depressing when someone’s work to put veggies on the table is met with so many setbacks. Remember a few years ago when drought and too much sun were the bane of Maine?

    What happened with the chook?

  9. mscarlita Says:

    Couldn’t find Cuz on the Vox website, but yes, I can wait until next week to contact him. Thanks!

Comments are closed.


