I’ve got the blues…

IMG_4302in more ways than one this gardening year, what with incessant rain, slugs the size of garter snakes and late blight taking out my tomato crop, but today I’ve got blueberries, 2.5 lbs. to be precise.  Since July 23, we’ve picked 8 lbs. of blueberries from our young blueberry hedge, planted just three years ago (although a couple of the plants are just 2 years old).  Amazingly, despite all the rain, the berries are sweet/tart and flavorful, and taste terrific on my homemade granola for breakfast.

We also harvested lettuce, Swiss chard, edible flowers for a salad I took to IMG_4303a party, and a beautiful bouquet of flowers last week.

I’m not very good about tallying all my harvests, but Daphne over at Daphne’s Dandelions has inspired me by inviting me to join her for Harvest Monday.  Thanks, Daphne, for the inspiration!

8 Responses to “I’ve got the blues…”

  1. Daphne Gould Says:

    Your welcome. I love your blueberries. I planted some last year. This year the winter moths ate all the flowers off the plants and stripped two of them off all of their leaves. Next year I have to get some BT so I can eat blueberries. I love them so much.

  2. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    We haven’t been hit as hard as Maine with all the wet, but it has been a very wet and odd year here in PA. I think it’s been a great year for berries though. The areas we glean from have been putting out incredible yields of berries. I guess the heavy rains suit them.

  3. Annie's Granny Says:

    I replaced my old blueberry bushes with new ones this spring, and one has already died. I wish I had my old bushes back. This is my first year in the last 15 that I’ve had no blueberries. Not one. :-(

  4. Jackie Says:

    Such beautiful blueberries! Sorry to hear about the late blight. It’s been devastating in the eastern US.

  5. Dan Says:

    Yummy blueberries! If you are looking for a good blueberry muffin recipe the one at the link below is excellent:

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/blueberry-coffee-cake-muffins-recipe/index.html

  6. mangochild Says:

    Hooray for those blueberries coming through in a big way! I went blueberry picking again, and have been eating handfuls all day long – addictive :-)

  7. Weez Says:

    I recently heard that Guinea Hens will eat just about anything that resembles a slug, snail, baby snake, etc. Sounds good to me & I’ve always liked they’re looks. Can’t say I know anything else about them though, good bad or indifferent.

  8. jeannie177 Says:

    Your Blue berries look great this year! I went and got some locally. and I froze some and I also made Muffin bread with them. ( I take a muffin recipe and instead of putting them in muffin tins I use loaf pans. the reason why is when the grandkids come up they only eat a partial muffin. This way I have less waste and we can enjoy the taste of them even though it’s in bread form. It’s one of our grand-daughters favorite breads I make when they come up from New Jersey.)

Comments are closed.


