Blueberry Bonanza

IMG_4479Earlier this week, we picked up our annual supply of Maine Wild Blueberries.  This year we ordered 60 lbs, in part to compensate for our smaller than usual strawberry harvest.  The majority went in the freezer, with a few set aside for fresh eating over the next few days.

Despite the wet, gray weather, this year’s crop appears to be a bumper one. Maine is the worlds largest producer of wild blueberries, last year harvesting about 90 million pounds and some sources are saying this years harvest could surpass last year.

We purchased this year’s blueberries from one of Dan’s former students, IMG_4482whose parents have a blueberry barren.  A surveyor, Dan A., is currently laid-off so was helping out with the berries, a nice young lad.  These beautiful berries are hiding out in the freezer, ready for winter smoothies, muffins and pancakes.

IMG_4484One of the best uses for Maine Wild Blueberries is Buttermilk Blueberry Pancakes, mmmm.  In my world, the perfect blueberry pancake is a heaping spoonful of blueberries held together with pancake batter.  We stopped at Helen’s Restaurant in Machias, which recently was cited by Newsweek Magazine for their blueberry pie.  (Newsweek claimed it was the best in the US, but of course they haven’t had mine.)  Helen’s pie was good, considering, but the pancakes needed a lot of help.  Each pancake had maybe 5 blueberries and was so tough it needed to be cut with a knife.  There just isn’t enough maple syrup available to cover that up.

I sure wish I could grow peaches, or cherries, but blueberries are pretty darn good, too.

14 Responses to “Blueberry Bonanza”

  1. mrspie Says:

    Oh, man, we all want what we can’t grow well, don’t we? Because even with my nectarines tipping their tree over this year and my asian pears almost ready, I’m looking at that blueberry crop and feeling jealous jealous jealous. That many blueberries would be prohibitively expensive here.

    Hey, speaking of jealous, how’s the construction of your friend’s pizza oven going? I haven’t seen any more pictures.

    • Ali Says:

      My friend decided she would prefer not to publish the account of the oven, sorry. Asian pears, nectarines! I wish we could arrange a trade!

      • mrspie Says:

        That’s a shame. Well, give her my best (“Uh, yeah, a totally random reader on my web page said good luck!”).

  2. Jeannie177 Says:

    aah The Pancake, Daddy loved pancakes anyway you made them. But he would say that your’s was better than Helen’s because of all the blueberries you put in. And I just love Blueberry Pancakes!

  3. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Your pancakes look fabulous, Ali! Question for you: What exactly is a Maine “wild” blueberry? At a harvest of 90 million pounds, I can’t imagine we’re talking a truly wild plant. It’s gotta be cultivated for that scale of production. So what distinguishes the Maine wild from other blueberries? I agree, btw, that it’s been a great year for berries.

  4. mangochild Says:

    Blueberries are perfection. I love them in muffins, pancakes, handpies, or any other way imaginable, I think. Your counter looks like mine did a few weeks ago! Of course I don’t have those Maine berries, being in CT, but the ones I’ve tasted from Maine really do taste different :-)

  5. Daphne Gould Says:

    Oh blueberries are so delicious. I do love them. The land I live on right now used to be a blueberry farm. Sadly they took all the blueberries out when the put the houses in. It would be so nice to have a massive blueberry patch. We do have the wild blueberries on a hill near us, but I haven’t gone to pick them in any quantity, just to eat out of hand. The berries are so small and are so hard to pick since they are low, that I just can’t see myself doing it.

  6. Nina Says:

    Aah the blueberries are truly a wonderful thing! I haven’t organized that many for the freezer as I am almost out of freezer space, but I have been making blueberry chevre! Mmm! REally delish!

  7. Amanda Says:

    I’d be interested in learning how to order wild blueberries, if the people you get them from do that for people they don’t know. :)

    • Amanda Says:

      I’d be interested in learning how to order wild blueberries, if the people you get them from do that for people they don’t know. :)

      I’m not sure if I’ll get a response to this via email; my email address is afisher AT pixelations DOT com.

      • Ali Says:

        Hi Amanda,

        The season here is just about over — our source is not accepting any more orders. I’ll e-mail more details, though, for next year.

  8. SugarCampNY Says:

    Ali,
    I’m placing an order right now for blueberry muffins in the morning next time I come to visit. Mom

Comments are closed.


