Homemade Vegetable Soup

IMG_4485Remember the fridge? I’ve solved that problem.  One batch of dilly beans, and when the batch currently in the canner comes out, 14 quarts and 9 pints of vegetable soup.  This soup is made with bounty from the farmers market, since my garden is not having a good year.  Let’s hope next year is better!

7 Responses to “Homemade Vegetable Soup”

  1. O. Says:

    Hooray! Good job filling the pantry with homemade goodness!

    O.

  2. mangochild Says:

    YEY for saving all that produce! What recipe do you use for the soup? Any special adjustments for canning?

    • Ali Says:

      Mango, I used a recipe from the classic canning guide the Ball Blue Book, but recipes and the most up-to-date canning guidelines are available on the National Center for Home Food Preservation website, here: http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html.

      Basically, vegetable soup is about 34 cups +/- mixed vegetables and 1 1/2 quarts of water cooked for 15 minutes at a boil, then hot packed into jars and processed in a pressure canner. You must process for the maximum length of time required for any of the vegetables used.

      The soup is my version of instant soup mix — just add a few other ingredients and wow, delicious soup.

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    I’m sure next year will be sunnier. I can’t imagine that our weird record breaking weather will happen again next year. If it does I think I’ll turn my yard into a pea, brassica and lettuce farm. Those seem to grow just fine.

    • Ali Says:

      Daphne, I sure hope so! This has been a very discouraging gardening year…. But evidence of my obsession abounds, today I was daydreaming about creating a new garden outside the fence for squashes/pumpkins :-)

  4. Will Says:

    Oh my goodness! That is a most beautiful arrangement of soup and beans. Alice, you’re making me homesick (and I was only in Maine for a year!). Look forward to continuing to follow the garden in the coming weeks.

    • Ali Says:

      Hi WIll!

      I miss you! You must be briefly back in the states readying for the next big adventure? Please keep me updated on how things go, and do consider a visit if you need a vacation! I hope the start of the adventure goes smoothly…

Comments are closed.


