Monday harvest tally

IMG_4508We are finally starting to see some produce other than lettuce from the garden.  In addition to these gorgeous Sunburst patty pan and their ugly cousin yellow crookneck squash, this week we harvested more lettuce, a small handful of string beans, Swiss Chard, which the hens enjoyed, broccoli leaves, also for the girls, another .75 lbs. of our highbush blueberries, a few more blackberries, another 20 Matt’s Wild Cherry tomatoes, and 2 more cucumbers.

Unfortunately, the Super Zagross Middle Eastern Slicing cuke up and died, probably from wilt, and the other cucumbers seem to be favorites of the hens :-( so are not managing to produce any fruit.  Sigh.  I definitely need to find a better spot for cukes, or hens, in the grand plan.

An amusing harvest was a large bunch of catnip.  I stripped the leaves off the plant into a large laundry basket, then removed the leaves to dry them, and put the leafless stems in the basket.  A short while later, I heard a crash and checked the laundry room to find my cat Ocho had knocked the laundry basket to the floor, and was rolling on the stems in the basket, looking very happy.  From the way she and her sisters were acting around the dehydrator, I’d say we have some good nip for the winter!  I have more to dry so this time I’ll try and capture their kitty antics with the camera.

Lastly, I cut two beautiful bouquets of flowers.   I’m posting this as part of Daphne’s Harvest Challenge, a bit late, but today was my first day back at the office and I ran out of time this morning.

6 Responses to “Monday harvest tally”

  1. mangochild Says:

    Congrats on the harvest – both you and Ocho seem to be enjoying it :-) The Sunbursts are so pretty, and deserving of their name.

  2. Daphne Gould Says:

    Oh I love those sunburst squash. They are so pretty. I once grew them before I taught myself not to hate summer squash. I didn’t eat them, but just grew them because they look so pretty. My neighbors got to eat them.

  3. julie Says:

    Glad to know your garden is being productive, mine not so much. Looking forward to more of your recipes.

  4. Farmgirl_dk Says:

    Hey, whatcha gonna do with the crookneck squash, Ali? I’ve got crookneck squash coming out my ears…and all from just one (giant) plant. I currently have 15 sitting on my dining table, arranged as a bouquet in a wicker basket. :-) There are only so many nights one can have sauteed squash for dinner… lol
    Good thing the chickens love it!

  5. chook Says:

    we had lots of delicious zucchini this year. i noticed little beak marks on some of them; we’ve decided not to let the girls out until the harvest is over.

  6. Mark Says:

    I uploaded a picture for Dan on my blog.

Comments are closed.


