Weeds be damned, I’m going hiking

IMG_4518This past week Maine has seen the nicest weather we’ve had all summer, with clear azure skies and a gentle breeze.  I’ve been imprisoned working and have missed this glorious meteorological wonder.  So today, weeds be damned, Dan and I went hiking.

We headed to the Camden area, where the mountains meet the sea, and today hiked up to Maiden Cliff.IMG_4524

This inland hike overlooks Megunticook Lake to the west, Coleman and Norton Ponds to the northwest, and to the south, the sea.  It a short 2 1/2 miles round trip, with about a 700 foot vertical gain.  Parts of the hike are pretty steep, but well constructed with stone steps to make the climb more manageable.  According to local lore, in 1864 a young girl fell to her death from the cliff.  I was very careful when approaching the cliff edge, but I think Dan got a little vertigo from watching me.  The large cross seen in the below photos marks the point of her fall.

It was a spectacular day for a hike anyway, and the views from this one were gorgeous.  We enjoyed lunch on the ledge, then hiked down and drove a short distance to the Fernald’s Neck Preserve on a large peninsula in Lake Megunticook.  Wow, what a gorgeous spot, and from the preserve, we had a great view of Maiden Cliff.

Demonstrating just how small Maine is, I discovered that the Preserve Steward is a former student of mine from many years ago when I worked at Unity College.  I left him a note at the sign-in box for sure.  We enjoyed a quick stroll out to Balancing Rock before we needed to hit the road for home.  It was a gorgeous day.  Click the photos to enlarge or see them on Flickr.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Responses to “Weeds be damned, I’m going hiking”

  1. Daphne Gould Says:

    I’m going to get out hiking this weekend too. It is just the perfect weather for it.

  2. julie Says:

    Great pictures Ali and Dan. My DH and I spent the weekend getting ready for “winter”, ugh I can’t believe I said that word. Firewood, coop winterized, time to replace the 1977 Vermont Castings wood stove with a more efficent model. You know the drill. Next weekend we are following you’re example, hiking!

Comments are closed.


