Monday harvest tally

IMG_4640Although the weather is growing cooler, the garden is reveling in the abundant sunshine we’ve had for the past few weeks.  We are picking lots of patty pan and yellow crookneck squash, IMG_4688Matt’s Wild Cherry tomatoes, pole beans, and even a few more string beans made their way into the house.

We picked the vegetables shown in the colander to the left on Monday.  Saturday, I pulled my container potatoes, garnering enough for 2 servings, and today I picked even more squash.  Most is destined for the freezer, but I did make some black bean soup with yellow squash in it today.

Earlier in IMG_4690the afternoon, I picked and roasted on the grill some of the Hungarian Black peppers.  I had allowed them to ripen on the plant, and they became an attractive dark red. I used one and will freeze the rest.

Late this afternoon, another batch of squash came in, another pint of cherry tomatoes, and two more purple bell peppers.  After dinner, I cut a big bunch of zinnias and calendula to share with my pals at work.  It’s starting to feel like summer!  Uh…. well, maybe not.

cccccccccccccccccccccccccccc

This post is part of Daphne’s Dandelions Monday Harvest Tally; do check it out!

.IMG_4691

5 Responses to “Monday harvest tally”

  1. GrafixMuse Says:

    Your squash looks beautiful! Makes me regret not planting any winter squash this year. The purple bells are attractive too. I think I may need to expand my garden for next year :)

    • Ali Says:

      The squash is delicious, and very prolific, but I really miss my Costata Romanesca zucchini :-(

      The purple bell peppers are pretty, but not as yummy as some of the green varieties I have grown. I may grow it again next year as it was successful, but I’m going to try Johnny’s “Lipstick” which I’ve heard raves of from several gardeners.

  2. SugarCampNY Says:

    THE ZINNIAS ARE FABULOUS. One of my favorites!

    • Ali Says:

      Thanks, Mom. Mine too. These went in to work, some on my desk, and I shared a few.
      Glad you are home, hope you had a good time!

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    The patti pan squash look so pretty. I love them. I wish I could send you up on of the Costata Romenesca. I really like them. I’m going to grow them next year. Lets hope next year is an easier gardening year so things grow better.

Comments are closed.


