Is she or isn’t he?

IMG_4631A rooster?  I’m beginning the think the crow I heard two weeks ago was an anomaly.  For the next week, I dutifully took my digital camera with me every morning when I let the girls out for the day.  Nothing.  Not even a raucous “braawwk!” just a whole lot of flapping and fluffing and racing around after a night in the coop.  Now, 14 days later, and still no sign of crowing.

I’m beginning to think that one morning there was a little surge of male hormones, but the female hormones kicked in later.  In other words, I’m think we have all hens.  I hope I am correct in this!

8 Responses to “Is she or isn’t he?”

  1. nancybond Says:

    S/he is a beauty, whatever s/he is. :-)

  2. Robin Says:

    We had a hen that routinely crowed for years. It was never the full bodied crow of a rooster, but enough to wake us up!

  3. chook Says:

    we have a hen that crows. the sound is not quite as piercing as a rooster, but still counts as a crow. i cracked up the first time i heard it.

  4. Robin Says:

    I have a white rock hen that acts like a rooster unless she’s broody.

  5. nruit Says:

    Maybe a hermaphrodite???

  6. Cherry Says:

    Congratulations on your Blotanical Win.
    ~ hugs, Cherry

  7. Daphne Gould Says:

    Congrats on being the Best Maine Blog on Blotanical this year.

  8. john mcdonald[honeyman] Says:

    I’ve seen this several times…an aunt of mine had a saying,”…a crowing hen and a whistling girl will both come to a bad end”.

Comments are closed.


