Another compelling reason to buy local food

An article in the New York Times outlining the beef inspection process and e-coli contamination highlights why choosing locally produced beef is so important.  I won’t get started now on the absurdly contradictory process the USDA uses to license local meat processors.  I’ll just say I can’t imagine ANY local processor is worse than the system described in the article.

2 Responses to “Another compelling reason to buy local food”

  1. julie Says:

    After leaving the Fryeburg Fair yesterday I looked at my husband and said “I think we should seriously think about becoming vegetarians. Since the chicken’s have entered our life, we have eaten chicken twice. Call us crazy, but we just don’t seem to have the desire for beef or chicken.

  2. Ali Says:

    Don’t read that article unless you want to go veggie. It is frightening, and there’s more in my next post!

Comments are closed.


