My new gardening tool

IMG_4731I know in the past I have said I wasn’t interested in a rototiller.  Times change.  This spring, I gave myself a painful case of gardener’s elbow, aka tendonitis, that plagued me all summer.  For most, this malady is annoying but manageable, a week or so of ibuprofen and they are all better.

Not me, I am allergic to ibuprofen and probably that whole class of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (I’m not sure but the only way to test is to take some and stand by with an Epi-Pen –no thanks).  So for me, tendonitis takes months to heal.  I babied my elbow all summer and I am still occasionally feeling a twinge.  At least it rained so much I didn’t miss much kayaking because of the tendonitis.  What’s a gardener with big dreams of expanding her gardening space to do?

Meet my new mini-tiller.  She’s a quiet, efficient, easy-starting, low-polluting 4-stroke Honda, powerful enough to really turn our clay soil, light enough at 29 pounds that I can easily carry and use it.  We purchased the tiller from a locally-owned independent retailer, Chad Little Outdoor power Equipment.

I can hardly wait to put the garden to bed and plant my garlic!

One Response to “My new gardening tool”

  1. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Beauty! I can relate to physical limitations to gardening. It’s never been formally diagnosed, but I have carpal-tunnel-like symptoms in my right wrist. Usually it’s manageable provided I don’t push myself past what I know I can manage, and work carefully. We don’t have a tiller either, though I can definitely see the appeal. So far we’ve borrowed tillers, which is lovely since it both saves the expense for us and creates opportunities for reciprocity. Enjoy your new toy!

Comments are closed.


