Harvest Monday

IMG_4840Today, we harvested some of the best Brussles sprouts I have ever tasted, they were amazing.  We also picked some Piricicaba broccoli, parsley, and a few of the Falstaff purple Brussels sprouts.  Much as I love my purple vegetables, the Falstaff just did not produce big sprouts, so say by-bye to Falstaff for next year  (you can compare them in the photo on the left — the tinly purple blobs are the Falstaff sprouts).  Fortunatley, the Oliver sprouts had a great crop.  The parsley is amazing, tender and sweet after the frosts, YUM!

We are saving the rest of the sprouts for Thanksgiving dinner, but I foresee some Kale and white bean soup and a nice salad in the near future.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.  Visit Daphne’s Dandelions to see what she and other gardeners are still harvesting in November!

8 Responses to “Harvest Monday”

  1. Mangochild Says:

    Oh! I love brussels sprouts. Love. Last year was the first that I really started eating them, and they are delicious. Thus, I am very jealous of your pickings. I made a kind of kale and white bean stew a couple weeks ago that was very satisfying. How do you make yours?

  2. Daphne Gould Says:

    I swear some year I’ll have a garden big enough to plant some brussels sprouts. I suppose I could give up my broccoli space to them, but I’m just not willing right now.

  3. Thomas Says:

    Those brussel sprouts look great! I’m very jealous right now. :) I’m sure they taste nothing like the old and bitter ones you find at the supermarket.

  4. Jan Says:

    If this years sprouts look anywhere near as good as yours I’ll be pleased. I’m not holding my breath though because the last lot were not much bigger than peas!

  5. chook Says:

    mmm…sprouts…

    i’ve never seriously tried to grow them but this post may change my mind.

  6. Michelle Says:

    Those are great looking sprouts. I confess that I gave up trying to grow them, I just couldn’t seem to get the hang of it. Fortunately, they are a huge crop around here and I can get really good ones. I bought a 2 foot stalk of them yesterday at a roadside farm stand…

  7. Ali Says:

    Thanks, all. The sprouts are a marvel…. they take a long time, but taste soooo good. The cool soggy weather we had this year worked for them. I will definitely make space for them in the future. I’d love to be able to eat them at least once a week from October through December….

  8. Dan Says:

    Your sprouts look excellent! They are a crop I have had no luck with. Last year I planted them in the spring and they only produced really small sprouts. This year I planted late spring so the sprouts developed in the fall not summer and the plants did nothing. Maybe next year will be better…..

Comments are closed.


