Harvest Monday

Amazingly, we are still harvesting in the first week of December.  Knowing cold temps were on the way, Dan harvested all of the lettuce and Swiss Chard in the hoophouse.  We had enough chard to make six pints when blanched and frozen, and enough lettuce to fill 3 1/2 gallon ziplock bags.  Needless to say, we’ve been eating a lot of salads, lucky us.

Our final big treat from the fall garden was the last of the Brussels sprouts.  One plant provided a large sheet pan full of sprouts for roasting.  I tossed them with oil, sprinkled with salt and roasted them in a hot oven for about 20 minutes.  Delicious!

We still have some leeks both in the hoophouse and in the garden.  I foresee some potato leek soup, and my favorite, caramelized leeks atop some homemade pizza.  YUM!

I’m posting this as part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series.  Visit her blog to see who else is still harvesting.

13 Responses to “Harvest Monday”

  1. Daphne Says:

    I’ve only eaten my leeks in soup. It is their raison d’etre. But the caramelized leeks on pizza sounds really good. Maybe I should try that sometime. And your spouts look delicious. I just love them, but for some reason have never grown them.

    • Ali Says:

      Daphne, once you try the caramelized leeks, you will come to understand that leeks have deux raison d’etre. I can’t wait for my next pizza night!

  2. Thomas Says:

    Great looking brussel sprouts. I am really envious of your house house. I’m sure it really helps to extend your harvest.

  3. Bellen Says:

    Not sure where you live, but when living in New England, the best Brussels Sprouts we had were those harvested after frost and in the snow. Chard will also recover after being frozen – lettuce not so much.

    Snow photos were lovely – now in Florida, it’s the only way I tolerate snow.

  4. Michelle Says:

    Beautiful sprouts! I don’t grow them but I do buy local ones on the stalk. They are so good. I roasted some with chorizo and shallots the other night, yum.

  5. nruit Says:

    My mouth has been watering all day for some roasted sprouts! We really have to grow some of our own next year. Enjoy!

  6. mangochild Says:

    Can I just say again that I am incredibly jealous of your hoophouse? I too love brussels sprouts and found some local ones even though its been a “not so great” year for many farmers growing them. They are delicious cooked simply as you described, and I join your sentiment about the caramelized leeks! They make almost anything better.

    • Ali Says:

      Try Brussels sprouts braised on the stovetop with some carrots. Also deeply yummy! Too bad about the bad year for sprouts — up here, the brassicas loved the cool wet weather.

  7. julie Says:

    Oh, those brussel sprouts look spectacular, my mouth is watering. May I ask if there is much cost to a hoop house? Did you purchase a kit or make do with what you had? Thanks Ali, did you receive much snow?

  8. jeannie Says:

    Just love sprouts! and just think Dan, if it wasn’t for Grandpa M. I would never love them or pearl onions! I think fondly of all those memories, Like when he came in dressed like Santa!!!
    And as for the pizza, When I get up your way again I would love to sample some Ali!!

  9. Christine B. Says:

    Wow, I’m amazed you are still getting a yield this time of year! You are in Maine, right? My last harvest must have been late September, some onions I forgot about ’til the last minute. I need a hoophouse!

    CB in Alaska

Comments are closed.


