First day of winter

It is my favorite day of winter — the first, but the day I know the end of the darkness is in sight. Gradually, every so subtly, the sun will spend more time with us, until soon, we will notice it, and feel the increasing warmth.  Then we will know that spring will come, and with it, a fresh new gardening season.  I love it.

Happy solstice one and all!

2 Responses to “First day of winter”

  1. Daphne Says:

    Mine is usually the last because it is when gardening season starts. Though I am loving that the days are getting longer.

  2. mangochild Says:

    I agree with you, the solstice is one of my favorite days of winter. The other is that day in mid February when all of a sudden the light changes. Not that its longer per se, but the feeling of the light is different. Warmer somehow, as if it comes from a different angle? I don’t know how to explain, but it is unmistakable. Between these two days – I can’t decide.

Comments are closed.


